Green dress for an orange poppy flower wedding


This May my best friend Jo is getting married to a wonderful guy Dave, and I am so so so excited for them! They have dated for almost 8 years (just like Chris and I) and Jo will be the first to tell you that its about doggone time! I’m really excited for their wedding which is taking place at Jo’s parent’s home in New Castle Kentucky. They have a gorgeous home and acres of land, which is perfect for an outdoor spring wedding. They decided on an orange California poppy flower theme as they have lived in California for the last couple of years and are finally moving back home. Hurray!! Since it is a more casual wedding, I wanted to make a dress that would suit both a formal and a casual setting for the event. I also wanted something light because in Kentucky it goes from winter to summer over night, and Kentucky summers are HOT! I found some light rayon material in a beuatiful green color, and decided to make the Cynthia Rowley dress from pattern 2406 (can you tell I’m a fan of the Cynthia Rowley line from Simplicity?) I love how unique the cut out sleeves are and the open back which makes it a bit more formal.

The pleating around the neckline was a new trick for me. I sewed interfacing on and flipped it inside out with facing on the inside and it worked like magic! The back was done with the same method and is enclosed at the top with a hook and eye. Here is the back view, keep in mind you’ll need a good sticky cup bra for this dress!

Here is the pattern I used too:

I can’t wait to see Jo looking gorgeous in her beautiful wedding dress, it is going to be a very special and unforgettable day!


3 Comments on “Green dress for an orange poppy flower wedding”

  1. jo says:

    I am so honored! I can’t wait to be home!! I loved this dress the instant you sent me a picture via text, but WOW! I didn’t see how amazing the back was! you look like a knock out…you should totally wear this at the wedding.

  2. Trisha says:

    Cute! I made this dress a while back for a vacation, and I haven’t worn it since. Maybe I’ll dig it out of the closet. 🙂

    Here’s the link to my version, if your interested:
    http://madebytrisha.blogspot.com/2010/06/emerald-cotton-gauze-dress.html

  3. Stephanie says:

    you look cute. Its nice to see that dress on a real person. I’ve got some fancy wear to make this summer.


Leave a comment