A Snappy Shirt dress


As the Spring weather rolls in, it sometimes is difficult to find some in between options to wear that won’t leave you freezing…. or sweating. I recently found this awesome shirt dress pattern from the Lisette line of Simplicity.

It is perfect for Spring, and I have never made plackets or button holes before so this was a great guinnea pig piece. I actually made this dress twice, the first one I found some discounted sky blue gingham (which was very sheer, but I didn’t notice it until it was too late). The first one actually turned out really good, when making the plackets though an iron is your best friend! They were surprisingly easy on this pattern, you just use interfacing and fabric for facing. The button holes were also simple and FUN! Here is the first dress I made:

One thing I will say about this pattern, is size up! Shirting material doesn’t have much stretch, so if you have some hips like myself you’ll want to go a size bigger. Since patterns generally run small anyways, that means I had to go two sizes up on this one. This dress turned out good, but I will be donating it to one of my thinner friends for sure!

The second dress I found some homespun fabric, meaning the print it the same on both the front and back as fabrics were spun by hand back in the day. This fabric is thicker and it was more of a peacock green gingham which I liked. I wanted to add a bit of embellishment to the second one, so I tried out metallic silver thread on the pockets. The thread looked good, however it was very thin and ended up causing my pockets to pucker, I couldn’t get them to lay perfectly flat no matter how many times I ironed them, unlike the first attempt in which I used regular thread. Its not really all that noticible, but it does bother me a bit.

I also decided to substitute out the buttons for pearl shirt snaps, like the ones used on western shirts. Those were incredibly easy to use as well, no sewing! Just get a hammer and some shops sell tools you can use to aply them easier for $5. Here is my final product:

I am really looking forward to the warm weather so I can wear my shirt dress to some of the fun outdoor events they have here in Louisville, like Waterfront Wednesday that starts this week!

4 Comments on “A Snappy Shirt dress”

  1. jo says:

    Totally was checking out the shirt dresses at Target today, your is much better! Another pattern I am going to have borrow.

  2. I love both of your lisette shirt dresses.But I really like this gingham check. super cute and looks great on you.. Happy sewing.

  3. Diana says:

    Thank you for posting all of the options you’ve tried with this pattern! I have been trying to find a shirtdress pattern for a year that will let me have a cute dress without the $100+ price tag like the one I loved at Dillard’s 😉 I have had this pattern for several months but haven’t been brave enough to try it for fear I won’t like it! 🙂 But I’m getting up the courage, and I really appreciate the reviews you’ve done of how different weights of fabric have worked out. I’d love to find a light blue chambray that looks like your blue men’s shirting but is lighter. And good call on sizing up for hips! 🙂 Thanks again!! Yours is adorable!

    • cjgal says:

      Thanks Diana! This has been a go to pattern for a while now. I think I have made this dress along with one other Lisette pattern dress more than any other item. You can’t go wrong with a simple shirtdress! I hope yours turns out great, be sure to send me some pictures of the finished product 🙂


Leave a Reply

