Cascade skirt- easy and breezy


I have seen several of Megan Nielsen’s Cascade skirts popping up in the sewing blogosphere and I was getting flowy, wrap skirt envy! I also keep seeing the designer Thakoon’s fabric appearing in projects, particularly this awesomely trippy navy blue cotton print. Lauren at Lladybird used it on her fantastic culottes, and I also saw it featured on Grainline Studio’s page to make up these adorable pajamas. It is true what they say about how soft and fluid the fabric is, I am in love! I knew it would be perfect for the cascade skirt, I mean the name is cascade- that’s what this fabric does!

DSC_0003

DSC_0006

This skirt is super easy to put together. Yes you will deal with a whole lot of fabric and an extremely long hem, but it is a no brainer. Just as everyone else has said, you can truly trust the layout guide which Megan created for the skirt. At first it all seems kind of backwards because you have to fold your fabric in half instead of long ways, and then you just follow the grain lines. It all works out, I promise! I chose to make the full wrap version which wraps around the back and ties in the front. I love the design element of the skirt with the long ties. I did have to cut a significant amount of length off the back, this thing was down to my ankles and it looked kind of ridiculous at first. I think I cut about 6 inches off!

DSC_0007

DSC_0010

DSC_0013

I really love the french seams and the rolled hem, they worked perfectly with this fabric. The slit in the front could be a little risqué especially in a big breeze, but if you were really concerned you could strategically pin it. I just wore mine to the local music festival called Forecastle here in Louisville and I took no precautions! However, there were a lot of hippies and people running around in bikini tops and not much else, so I figured a little leg wouldn’t offend anyone. Here are a couple fish people I met this weekend:

1060892_10151479061822142_1945890010_n

I had a blast, and I stayed (somewhat) cool in my skirt. It was in the 90’s after all! I definitely see more of these in my sewing future!

In other news Project Runway season 12 starts on Thursday! Bring on ladies night fully equipped with wine, snacks and cattiness! Yahoo!!

PR12_blog_promo_newest

Source

16 Comments on “Cascade skirt- easy and breezy”

  1. Jenny says:

    So Pretty! I LOVE your skirt! I can’t wait for PR ~ yay!!

  2. Alison says:

    Your skirt is so cute! And I’m excited for the new season of Project Runway too.

  3. Katherine says:

    As always, your fabric selection is perfect! Hope I can sew as well as you can someday.

    • cjgal says:

      Thanks gal! You can, sewing is easy! Just get out your scissors and thread and have at it, the more you practice the more you learn! 🙂

  4. soisewedthis says:

    how in the world is this the first i’m hearing that the new season starts tomorrow??!! so excited, must go set a reminder on the tv =). i love the fabric of your skirt!

  5. Way to go, that fabric looks perfect for that pattern. Love it! Looks perfect for summer.

  6. Amanda says:

    This is totally summer festival attire- love it! 😀

  7. sewbusylizzy says:

    super pretty and I really love how it doesn’t look like a super exaggerated high-low skirt, it’s just really pretty and kinda a bit sexy. Lovely job!

    • cjgal says:

      Thanks! Yes I have strong opinions about high-low skirts. I ended up taking quite a bit off the back, mostly because it was crazy long- down to my ankles! It looked silly especially since I am a shrimp.

  8. gingermakes says:

    Really, really pretty! Great job, girl!


Leave a Reply

