Happy New Year 2014!


Happy New Year everyone! I hope that you all had a great night and a festive New Years day. We decided to keep things a little more low key this year so we invited friends over to our house for champagne and snacks, and then we headed to the neighborhood watering hole to ring in 2014. It was a fun time and we had a pretty big turn out! Since our neighborhood bar the Air Devils Inn (or ADI as we affectionately call it) is not <ahem> the highest caliber of places, I decided to make a fun but not too over the top New Years dress. Bring in Vogue 1337, this is a very 1980’s style dress with a blouson bodice and fitted skirt.

DSC_0188

 

I kind of threw this together last minute so the bodice is a bit more blousy than I intended, I would probably scale the top down a size if I decide to make this again. I made this in a forest green heavy jersey knit, it was a chilly night so I wanted it to be warm! I love the pleating on the shoulders, however the pattern called for clear elastic inserted in the seam of the sleeves. This boggled me as the elastic really didn’t seem to serve any purpose, there was no elastic sizing guide for the sleeves (only the waist) and it did not indicate any sort of tension or stretching the elastic while sewing it in. I would assume the elastic would be used to give a gathered effect, however this didn’t seem to be the case so I just omitted it. For the elastic in the waist I just used some elastic I had in my stash instead of clear plastic, it works just fine!

DSC_0187

 

DSC_0189

 

DSC_0190

 

DSC_0184

 

 

 

Unfortunately my hem wouldn’t lay flat, it just refused to be ironed into submission. Oh well! It was certainly comfy dress and I did plenty of running around and dancing to the juke box in it. I would make it again, nothing like having easy knit dresses to throw on!

In other news, check out my new sewing toys I got for Christmas from my In Laws! While yard sailing they found this amazing rolling fold out table that fits perfectly in my sewing room. No more scooting around the kitchen floor and crawling around while I cut my fabric! It has already made a world of difference in my sewing experience. In addition to the table they also found a huge cutting mat that fits exactly on my sewing table. Now I can actually use my rotary cutter! I think if I had used it on the hardwood kitchen floor Chris may have crucified me.

DSC_0174

 

DSC_0175

 

But wait, I am not finished! They also found me a sleeve ironing board which is something I have been dying for! Its the little things, am I right? Oh and my sister and law and her boyfriend bought me an Ott-lite for Β a high definition sewing view. How spoiled am I? Maddie decided to check it out too πŸ™‚

DSC_0173

DSC_0176

 

I hope that the holiday season treated you all well, and I am looking forward to seeing all of your creations and inspiration for 2014! Cheers blogosphere!

 

22 Comments on “Happy New Year 2014!”

  1. Ssm says:

    The clear elastic is to stop the sleeve from stretching out. It’s used in a lot of rtw, and often patterns call for it also.

  2. punkmik says:

    I love the colour. V pretty. The sleeves are nice too!

  3. Hello sexy 70s vixen! That colour is beautiful on you. Also the gorgeous tresses of yesteryear look really suits you. Happy new year-keep rockin’.

  4. Sarah Jo says:

    Fun dress and nice Christmas haul! Coveting your table, but there’s no room for it in our new digs so I’ll continue to hunch over the bed as use my small cutting mat!

    • cjgal says:

      Ha thanks! I hear ya, I’ve been scooting around the floor for several years now. This table collapses pretty small otherwise it wouldn’t fit in my small room either!

  5. I love this colour! I’ve just bought a knit fabric exactly the same shade and have cut out the sew you home stretch dress pattern out. I also really like the shape of the top on this dress – great work.

  6. gingermakes says:

    Ooh, this is so fun! I love this style on you! And OH! Your new sewing goodies are amazing– I bet you’ll sew even faster now!

  7. Kristina says:

    Happy New Year! Love the dres, the color is beautiful and it drapes so nicely!

  8. Evesewcool says:

    Congrats on the table. Your sewing experience will never be the same again. It’s the best!

    Great dress too!!!

  9. Amy says:

    That is one brilliant table!

  10. Ines says:

    Love the dress! What makes it great is the rich beautiful color , great fabric choice!

  11. SeeKatSew says:

    Great colour! Looks really comfortable. Love reading your blog, and just so you know, I nominated you for a Liebster Award.


Leave a Reply

