A reindeer dress and a Bumble hat


Hello friends! Sorry I have been so quiet the last month, the first semester has just wrapped up at school and I am officially on Christmas break. Thank you Lord! For the holiday season I really have been wanting to make a reindeer dress, and I found this reindeer knit at Girl Charlee, (also comes in red and green). It was love at first sight! This is cotton jersey, and is pretty light, but not too sheer. We are having unseasonably high temperatures right now so this is just right, I hate getting all bundled up in the winter and then sweating my ass off inside.

DSC_0163

There is nothing super fancy about this dress, I used the Colette Laurel pattern because this print needed something simple without too much detail breaking it up. I eliminated the darts in the front and back by folding down over the front darts and cutting the back piece smaller than my regular sizing. Since this is knit fabric it really didn’t need the darts and shaping anyhow because it is so stretchy and form fitting. I matched up the print on the sides and made it a bit shorter than I normally would cut my dresses because I wanted to wear it over leggings.

DSC_0164

 

DSC_0168

 

I was so excited for this fabric that as soon as it arrived today I immediately started cutting and sewing it up so that I could wear this dress to dinner tonight with my In Law family. I finished this dress in about an hour, that might be a new record! A lot of it I just serged together which definitely saved some time. Here is my Christmas tree, I am so happy to finally get some time off and take a break!

DSC_0160

 

Oh and speaking of Christmas, I have one last share- check out the amazing Bumble hat my mom crocheted for me! I wore this fantastic piece to an ugly Christmas sweater party last night with my Bumble sweatshirt, he was quite the hit! I found a free pattern for him here in case you want to make your own. She used special yard that looks like fur flying everywhere, I am kind of obsessed with this one! (Clearly my Bumble obsession is reaching new heights)

DSC_0172

 

Have a wonderful holiday season!

12 Comments on “A reindeer dress and a Bumble hat”

  1. SeeKatSew says:

    Oh this dress is so cute – I love the colours and print in the fabric. Your hair looks amazing!

  2. sewbusylizzy says:

    Cute & comfy… fab new hair!

  3. lisa g says:

    this is adorable! i love that fabric so much but never ordered any because i didn’t know what i’d do with it. this is perfect!

  4. darling dress! That fabric is so precious–I love it. great pattern choice too.

  5. So completely adorable. Very cool print, and perfect with Bumble. 🙂 Love your hair too.
    Merry Christmas!
    Shelley

  6. gingermakes says:

    Aww man, I was looking for a print just like this and totally forgot to check Girl Charlee! This looks so great on you– how adorable!


Leave a Reply

