Bumbles Bounce!


It s time again for my favorite holiday and ridiculous costume making! Even though it is Halloween, Chris and I decided to borrow a couple Christmas characters this year. My all time favorite Christmas movie is Rudolph the red nosed reindeer (the stop motion animation, not the cartoon) and the Bumble is by far the coolest character, Yukon Cornelius is a close second 😉 I figured we could double up and make some fun Christmas cards with the photos in a couple months.

Bumble and yukon cornelius

thYukon

See the resemblance? These were actually pretty easy costumes to make. I made pajama pants with an elastic waist out of white furry fleece from joanns. I just used an old pj pant pattern I have had forever, pj pants are so easy and comfy I really should make some flannel ones for the winter.  For the top, I just used a long sleeved shirt in my drawer as a pattern and sewed it up super quick. I serged all the seams inside so that it wouldn’t be itchy from the fur edges.

DSC_0020

DSC_0023

Obviously the Bumble head was the challenging part, but I got him put together in just a day. I started with a cheapo hat that had a brim, and I glued blue felt around the mouth area. Then I cut two pieces of the furry fleece, each big enough to stuff with polyfil and stand up, I glued these on the brim as well. Then I stuffed them full (well, not TOO full- it was kind of heavy!) and sewed the head closed. His face is a piece of foam with blue felt glued on and white felt for the eyes. His nose is another smaller piece of foam with blue felt t give it dimension.  I sewed this piece on the head, and glued on white felt teeth. Voila! The Bumble was born!

DSC_0025

Yukon Cornelius was much easier, mostly because i didn’t have to make most of it. We just found an old blue jacket in Chris’s closet, and I had a black elastic belt. I made his ice pick out of cardboard and duct tape (very fancy) and found a toy gun at the dollar store. His beard is actually crocheted, I found this free pattern online and my mom crocheted it up. She modified it by making his mustache longer with some wire to make it stand up, and she made a red hat with ear muffs to attach to the beard. I think it turned out great, it was pretty hilarious!

DSC_0028

We wore our costumes to a party at glassworks, and we had a total blast! Now that Halloween is over, I am hoping to get in some regular sewing time, my school schedule has been very time consuming so far this year and sewing has been put on hold out of pure exhaustion. Who’s ready for Thanksgiving break? This gal!

12 Comments on “Bumbles Bounce!”

  1. SeeKatSew says:

    Bumble’s head is amazing! Nice work on both, I love the facial hair your mom made for your hubby. I bet you two had the best costumes that night. Any plans for your next project?

    • cjgal says:

      Thank you! We had a blast, unfortunately we hit a bar after the party and those young whipper snappers didn’t know who we were. Oh well… I was working on the minoru, so hopefully ill finish it soon!

  2. This is fabulous-words fail me. Seriously. Just ♥.

  3. gingermakes says:

    AHAHAHAHA! This is hilarious! Great job!

  4. these are so awesome! I’m impressed, once again. The head to your costume is so creative–I can’t imagine creating that. I love hearing how you did it. Kudos 🙂

  5. LOVE your costumes! That’s one impressive Bumble noggin! Rudolph is my all time favorite Christmas movie.

  6. Amanda says:

    Oh my god.
    I am in awe.
    There are no words but EPIC!!!


Leave a Reply

