Stash busting


These first few weeks of school have been crazy busy, so in effect my sewing time has dropped to only the weekends. Now with football season and yard sales and other various events going on even my weekends are pretty filled up! What’s a sewer to do to satisfy the sewing itch? Well, whip out quick and easy dresses, that’s what! This is just good old tried and true Simplicity 2059, easy and fast to make, but very functional and comfortable for daily life. Β This is a great stash buster dress, which is something I really need to start doing. The growth rate of my stash is far high than my sewing rate. #Sewistproblems

DSC_0001

 

This is a super light weight and sheer feather print knit that I have had in my sash for well over a year now. Its such a cool print, I felt it was time to do SOMETHING with it. Since it is so sheer I have been holding out for the right project, but it really never came along. I decided I would just make this simple dress because it doesn’t break up the print at all. Instead of making a neck binding, I just lined the entire dress with a white knit underneath. Its a good weight now, especially for the fall transition. I wore this to school with a blue cardigan and flats this week, I can see this going well with boots and tights too.

DSC_0006

 

DSC_0021

 

Next on my project list is the minoru jacket. I’m pretty excited about it, I am ready to try my hand at a hooded jacket- new territory for me! I have a black twill and a cheetah print waiting to be cut… who’s ready for the cool weather? This gal!

26 Comments on “Stash busting”

  1. Rikki says:

    Very cute & stylish dress:) I love the feather print fabric! Can’t wait to see your Minoru jacket, I’ve never sewn any of the Sewaholic patterns but it looks cool!:)

    • cjgal says:

      Thank you! Sewaholic patterns are usually pretty good but you have to e careful if you have a full bust, they base their patterns on pear shape body types.

  2. sewmanju says:

    Another cute dress! And I also am gearing up to sew the Minoru. Hope yours turns out well (and mine!) I will have to check this dress pattern out….

  3. sewmanju says:

    p.s I am confused: is your date stamp one day ahead? Or have I lost a day?!

  4. SeeKatSew says:

    I think that is the perfect dress for that fabric, the print is beautiful. Nice work, as usual! Do you buy fabric for specific projects, or buy fabric you like first and stash for the perfect pattern?

    • cjgal says:

      Thank you! A little bit of both, sometimes I get a vision and seek out the perfect fabric, other times I see a sale or something shiny and cute and I can’t control myself πŸ˜‰

  5. Love the feather knit! Where did you find it? I am so ready for some cool weather! I’m working on a Colette Laurel at the moment, since it’s finally cooling down enough to even think about wearing sleeves! I have seen some cute versions of the Minoru. Can’t wait to see yours!

    • cjgal says:

      Thanks- I believe from fabric.com? I’ve had it in my stash forever, like well over a year. I’m cutting myself off for a while until I use some of the fabulousness sitting in my closet. I figure the minoru will make a great first fall item!

  6. sewbusylizzy says:

    This is just lovely – the dress pattern might be simple but it lets the fabric sing. You look sensational! x

  7. gingermakes says:

    Really, really cute! I love this on you! I’ve been making an effort to stash-bust, but I just sew so slowly!

  8. ksgentry says:

    I love when I use fabric from my stash, even when there is not enough for the project you are working on. It gives you room for more fabric! I love your dress, I love that fabric, it fits your pattern perfectly.

  9. Amanda says:

    Gah! Everything you make is too rad for words! Loving this frock hard πŸ˜€

  10. Such a cute dress, and great fabric! I have a stashing problem, too…my goal for this year is to use more than I buy. To make that happen, I’ll have to sew up another 30 yards without buying anything the rest of the year. Here’s hoping I find some good, quick projects so I can buy fabric again! πŸ˜€ πŸ˜›

  11. Dawn says:

    That is a great dress and I love the feather fabric, so pretty.

  12. Amy says:

    Cheetah print!! Can’t wait. This is a lovely feather dress too πŸ™‚

  13. found your blog via pattern review and love this & all your makes! I’m especially impressed with the shirt dresses – i’m hoping to conquer a button-up shirt and then dress somewhat soon… we shall see!

    • cjgal says:

      Thank you! Shirt dresses aren’t too bad, just take them one step at a time and be careful about the ease since shirting fabric tends to not have much stretch. It takes a little practice πŸ™‚


Leave a Reply

