The Saltspring dress


Okay yall, I think this hands down may be my favorite thing I have made this year.  This is the new Saltspring dress from Sewaholic and it is the best pattern ever! Ironically I was kind of meh about the pattern when it first came out so I was hesitant to take the plunge, but then I kept seeing so many adorable Saltspring dresses pop up on the blogosphere.  I love the tie straps and the pockets, and the elastic waistline is super comfy!

DSC_0030 DSC_0029

 

This dress was super easy to make, I didn’t even really follow the directions too closely to be honest. This dress has a self lined bodice, with the lining being slightly shorter than the bodice fabric to create a billowing effect. I used a heavier cotton material from Hawthorne fabrics, this was actually a quilting cotton but after a run through the washer it softened up nicely and got a nice flow to it.  Since the cotton was heavier I didn’t want the top to billow out as much so I took off about an inch from the bodice piece. I also made a bigger channel for my elastic to create a more defined waistline, and I eliminated the zipper. With the extra room and stretchiness from the elastic, a zipper seemed a little too fussy and unnecessary.

DSC_0035

 

See? Just a little bit of billowiness 🙂

DSC_0038

 

DSC_0039

 

DSC_0040

 

And POCKETS! Nice roomy pockets. Love!!

DSC_0041

 

I wore this dress to my brother in law’s 30th birthday party and I had two requests for versions of this dress. I think it is one of those patterns that looks good on everyone, and makes you feel good. It is easy to wear and can be made in a variety of fabrics. I think I may try it out in a knit if the right one comes along.  I also wore this on the first day of school last week, I told the kids I made it and they oooh’ed and aaahh’ed. Gotta impress them early!  My new students are wonderful btw, I am super excited for the rest of the school year.

But back to the dress, I definitely suggest you try this one. I think it is a great one for all ages, and the maxi version would also be super cute in a nice light flowy material.   This one is a keeper people!!!

26 Comments on “The Saltspring dress”

  1. gingermakes says:

    Really, really cute! I love this on you!

  2. sewexhausted says:

    Your Saltspring version looks great. And the color is marvelous on you! Well done… And so sweet of the kids to ooh and aah. ~Laurie

  3. Michelle says:

    Very nice. Just finishing my saltspring with the sew along. Use a most fussy slippery drapy fabric…good to know it looks good in a cotton. Will have to try that next. Great color & fabric too!

  4. ksgentry says:

    Another success in your corner! Love the dress and being able to eliminate the zipper is a bonus! The print looks great on you!

  5. Gjeometry says:

    Ooooh, ahhhhh, I must echo your students here. This is my favourite version of the Saltspring I have seen! Very pretty.

    • cjgal says:

      Thank you! My kids ask me everyday now if I made my outfit, they are so cute. I think I may whip out another one of these before fall rolls in.

  6. Amy says:

    Squeeeeal you look so so cute! It really does seem like a great flattering dress when you see so many bloggers looking great in it. I like your fabric choice

  7. Amanda says:

    This is a perfect print and pattern match- love it! And those straps are so dainty nd perfect- check you and your mad details skills out 😀

    • cjgal says:

      Haha thanks! I saw so many people say they thought the straps were too long but I just made them thicker and tied long bows. I think the length is good!

  8. smittenness says:

    That is a perfect summery dress. Looks very cute on you and pockets?! I love pockets.

  9. As always, great fabric choice! Love your version of this dress. I took inspiration from the Saltspring dress and made another vogue 8870 with single tie straps. I still think I should try this pattern though.

  10. sewbusylizzy says:

    I’ve gotta gotta make this – however I’m wanting to make it in chiffon – cos I’m a sucker for punishment…

  11. Nothy Lane says:

    I love the Saltspring in the cotton fabric you used. ANd I’m glad your class is great this year…I’ll find out if mine is a great class when we go back to school next week.

  12. I never would have thought to make this out of a quilting weight cotton, but yours looks great! Taking out an inch seemed to really give the right amount of blousing with the heavier cotton! I have made 3 already, 2 out of rayon challis and one out of voile. Now that I know it works with quilting cotton and will probably make 5 more!!! You are so right about it being comfortable! I’m pretty sure this is the most comfortable dress I own. Check my versions out! sewcharleston.wordpress.com


Leave a Reply

