Pattern Runway Kimono dress


I have recently acquired some fabric from local yard sales around town and I got a bunch from a lady who lives in the St. Matthews area of Louisville.  She is apparently a big fan of the color blue (UK fan maybe?) so I now have several blue pieces in my stash. This fabric is some sort of silky blend, obviously synthetic. I was not particularly crazy about the little red and yellow paisley print, however it was about $1.50 for two yards so I figured why not? I have some other silky fabrics from my Paris trip that I am hoarding for the right project, and I really wanted to try the pattern runway kimono dress because I have seen so many cute ones and it looks perfect for slick material that can be a pain.  I planned to use this yard sale material to make a wearable muslin but I actually ended up liking the dress much more than I originally planned!  Somehow this dress lessens the frumpiness of the material.

DSC_0030

 

DSC_0027

 

Please excuse the wrinkliness… those side seams could REEEALLY use a good press! Anyhoo this dress was as easy as they say it is, I love the big sleeves (although they do gape a bit if you are self conscience about a bra showing- just a heads up) and the blousy bodice.  It is super comfortable too, can go wrong with an elastic waist, right? I used the facings even though I usually can’t stand them. The inside of the sleeves is highly visible so I felt there was no getting around them. They ended working out just fine but I did tack them down with just a plain old straight seam, I think it looks just fine.  I didn’t follow the directions for the elastic casing, I read some reviews and many people found these confusing and unnecessarily complicated so I just used the seam allowance and it worked out as planned.

DSC_0012

 

kimono dress

 

The little button I used was a flea market find, there is a booth at the flea market that sells bins full of commercial buttons, this one came in a set of three, but I don’t think he will miss his buddies too much 😉  I didn’t want to mess with making a buttonhole on this finicky fabric so I just sewed the keyhole up and made a faux button appearance. I don’t think I will wear it open so it doesn’t matter! The necklace coincidentally is also a flea market find. Basically this whole ensemble cost under $5.00- pretty sweet! I think it looks cute belted too.

DSC_0019

 

 

DSC_0020

 

Overall I am happy with the way my dress turned out, I made this whole dress in a straight medium. The next one I will probably sew the bodice in a small and grade up to a medium on the skirt.  I am really itching to use my black and white bird fabric from my Paris fabric shopping spree.  Maybe I need to reel myself in a bit…. gah fabric burning a hole in my pocket!!

 

 

 

 

12 Comments on “Pattern Runway Kimono dress”

  1. Reblogged this on Amanda's Words / starfire8me and commented:
    NICE DRESS.

  2. Sassy T says:

    Looks fab. I really like this pattern and have it on my wishlist. https://www.facebook.com/SassySewingBees

  3. Amanda says:

    Super duper cute! I’m adding this pattern to my summer makes list for the end of the year!

  4. Love it with the belt!! I really like the print on the fabric – great find.

  5. ksgentry says:

    Love the blue printed dress, though I have to admit I am not a Wildcat fan. I love yard sale and estate finds but have not been able to quite hit a great one in a long time. I have never tried the Kimono pattern yet but it looks pretty simple so I will add it to my ‘to do’ list. My ‘to do’ list seems to be overtaking my ‘got done’ list by leaps and bounds.

    • cjgal says:

      Haha thanks! My husband is a big cards fan, so I think he may have preferred this one in red. I definitely hear you on the to do list, mine seems to grow exponentially yet the makes cannot keep up!

  6. This is so cute, especially with the belt. The fabric works really well with the pattern too. Xxx


Leave a Reply

