Kid in a candy store!


Bon jour friends! We have just returned from a two and a half week trip to Europe. It was an incredible experience, we saw so many impressive sites, met so many interesting people, and ate sooo much good food! I think I gained 10 lbs in Rome alone. This was a family trip with my in-laws, all together we were 8 people. Quite a large group for such a big trip!  We all had a great time, but I am happy to be back home and continue my summer break 🙂  Much sewing time will be had!During the two and a half weeks we went to Athens Greece, Rome Italy, Dubrovnik and Split in Croatia, and the last leg of the trip Chris and I went to Paris on our own. Paris was so much bigger and bustling than I expected, and it was cold! Everywhere  else we went was HOT, we were sweating and sunburned the whole trip and then arriving in Paris we had to get out our jackets and jeans again. Truth be told it was nice to get a little break from the heat before heading home, it is muggy as crap here!

So Paris… ok let’s get down to it. The fabric shopping was unreal! I have never seen so many shops in one place with such a unique fabric selection. And it was so reasonable! I think the most I paid was like 15 Euros for 3 meters, sooo cheap! I did my best not to go crazy since we had to pack it all in our suitcases to bring home, but I ended up with 5. That’s not too bad is it? We went to the cluster of stores below the Sacre Coeur and started at the Tissus Reine. This store had all its fabric precut in 3 meters and you just pay a flat price for the bundle. I found some ridiculous deals in there!

 

 

DSC_0657_2

 

DSC_0660_2

 

 

 

 

 

View from the street:

 

DSC_0671_2

 

A wall of buttons!

DSC_0676_2

 

There were many little hole in the wall shops that had drapery and upholstery material, sidewalk sales, notions, and little shops with all sorts of trim. My favorite shop by far was the Marche Saint Pierre, it was 5 stories high of every sort of fabric or sewing supply you could think of, it was a bit overwhelming! What I loved the most about the store was the displays that they used to showcase the fabric. Here at home all we have is Joanns, Hancocks, and other big box type stores. The displays that they put out are usually dresses made from simplicity patterns or little quilted bags. At Marche Saint Pierre they had all sorts of  over the top costumes! Some were really cool, and others were down right creepy…

DSC_0663_2

 

DSC_0666_2

 

This guy will keep you up at night!

 

DSC_0668_2

 

DSC_0677_2

 

Yes, I think I went a little nuts! Luckily Chris was pretty amused by how much I enjoyed fabric shopping and didn’t pull in the reins too much. He even helped me carry my bags, fabric gets heavy! Here are the spoils of my shopping trip, I pretty much just went for pieces that spoke to me and that I knew I wouldn’t be able to find at home.

This is a shiny satiny material that Chris actually found first. I love the retro printed flowers, I’m seeing this one for a fancier dress that I can wear to one of the weddings we have coming up in the next couple of years.

 

 

 

DSC_0691_2

 

Here is another slick, satiny fabric that I found. I generally avoid this slippery material because it is hard to work with, but I couldn’t resist these beautiful prints.

 

DSC_0698_2

 

Here is a plain old cotton, but I adored the purple geometric print. This will look so cute on a full skirted dress.

DSC_0707_2

 

DSC_0708_2

 

This is another geometric print I found but it has such a cool border print. Not quite sure what I will use it for yet, but it will need to be fabulous!

DSC_0712_2

 

This one is a mystery fabric, some sort of polyester material. Chris picked this one out, I am loving the birds!

DSC_0700_2

 

And finally, here is a slinky knit that I found last minute on a sidewalk sale as we were heading back. Only 1.50 Euros for 1 meter, it was coming home!

DSC_0710_2

 

Ok so I know this is already an excessively long post, and everyone hates looking at vacation photos but I just have to share some of the highlights! Feel free to stop reading now if you’ve had enough 😉

DSC_0068

 

DSC_0220

 

DSC_0904

 

DSC_1000DSC_0150_2

 

IMG_0089

 

DSC_0512_2

 

DSC_0837_2

 

Arrivederci!!

 

19 Comments on “Kid in a candy store!”

  1. gingermakes says:

    Yay, what a fun trip! I’m so glad you guys had such a nice time! I LOVED fabric shopping in Paris– everything was so pretty and definitely affordable!

  2. Salma says:

    Oh I totally missed all the fabric shopping in Paris! I will be using this post as a guide next time I go!

  3. Looks like you had an amazing time! Totally love the second silver fabric and the bird fabric!

  4. What a wonderful trip! And the fabric- gorgeous!

  5. Helena says:

    What a lovely trip! I love both Greece and France so I’m jealous. However, I do live a bit closer than you so my getting there is not as hard. I really like the silk print as well as the cotton.

    • cjgal says:

      Thanks! I’m super jealous, I would love to be able to frequent the Parisian fabric shops. It’s probably for the best though, my home is only so big!

  6. ShanniLoves says:

    Wow you got some beautiful fabric! Looked like a fun trip!! Great photos, you should frame that last one!

    • cjgal says:

      Thanks! It was my first time in Europe ever, such an amazing place. That last one was taken on our last night on a canal boat tour, we got to see it twinkle too 🙂

  7. CGCouture says:

    I can’t even begin to describe how jealous I am of your vacation, especially the amazing fabric shopping!! *sigh* Someday… Anyway, sounds like a great trip, and you had a good time. Can’t wait to see what you do with your new acquisitions!

  8. Cherie says:

    Hi, I’m one that loves vacation photos! Wonderful trip, we’re gonna go sometime I hope! Very lovely fabric indeed great choices! Also loved your striped dress you posted earlier!

    • cjgal says:

      If you are a fabric shopaholic then paris is where you need to be, go!! It was so much fun, and the city was pretty amazing as well 🙂 I’d be happy to recommend some shops and sightseeing for you!

  9. Paris fabric district is just the best, I’m looking to make it an annual pilgrimage. Beautiful fabric choices btw – looks like you had a fantastic holiday

  10. Orangecake says:

    Thanks for sharing your beautiful pictures.


Leave a Reply

