Meet Laurel!


Ah yes, I have caught the latest bug going around… Colette Laurel! I love this pattern, it is a roomy shift dress with endless possibilities. I like that it isn’t too fitted, it gives it more of a casual feel and of course comfort. Around where I live people don’t get too gussied up unless it is for a special occasion, so some of the dresses I have made are sadly sitting in my closet waiting to be taken out for a night on the town. This dress I can easily wear to work or dinner or drinks without the feeling of being super overdressed amongst the jeans and tees.

DSC_0324

DSC_0325

 

The dress is an easy sew. It consists of just front and back panels, and sleeves if you desire. I cut a straight size 6 and still had quite a bit of ease to take in the back. I also lowered the neckline down an inch or two because it felt a little too restrictive and nun-like. Additionally, the sleeves were a little too long for my taste so I took those up a bit as well. I used bias tape around the neckline, and I was going to include it on the sleeve hem but I decided it was an overkill.

The fabric I used was a nice linen blend with a lime green, brown, and orangey-red ikat print. The linen is pretty dense, however it was still a little too sheer for my taste so I made the version with the underlining. I generally try to avoid lining with our hot summers, but it was necessary on this one.

DSC_0321

 

I am loving how it turned out. I have been seeing some really cute versions of the Laurel made with beautiful eyelet fabric and I really want to try it out. I have never worked with eyelet material, but since this dress is so simple it will make the perfect guinea pig piece.

Until then I think I’ll have fun taking Laurel out on the town!

DSC_0322

27 Comments on “Meet Laurel!”

  1. Megan says:

    This is so adorable! I’ve been seeing such cute versions of the Laurel, I’m thinking I’m going to have to break down and buy the pattern soon. I really love the fabric and I think it will totally fit in with your jeans wearing friends. I know what you mean- I’m always the most dressed up of my friends!

    • cjgal says:

      Thanks gal! I know I hate that, I love getting dressed up in my sewing garb but its always too much especially for the dives we usually frequent.

  2. Your Laurel is stunning! And that fabric is SO beautiful! Where did you buy it? I’m really obsessed with ikat prints right now, and those colors are perfect for this dress. Great job!

  3. Your Laurel is perfect! Your fabric is gorgeous (where did you find it?), and you did a great job on fitting and construction. I have resisted the pattern so far because it seems so simple but now I may reconsider for that very reason :)-

    I look forward to seeing your next version!

    • cjgal says:

      Thank you! Actually I found this fabric at Joann’s…. I know, I know. Bad big box company, bad! In my defense I had two $50 cards from my mom and sister for my b-day and I saw this fabric and it spoke to me. I had no choice!

      • I don’t think there’s anything wrong with getting fabric at the big box stores. I have definitely found some good ones there. And if you mix it into your sewing wardrobe with stuff from other places, people never believe its from Joann/Hancock.

  4. sewmanju says:

    Cute dress and love the colours in the fabric.

  5. Sassy T says:

    Looks so comfortable but cool too. It’s the type of style you can make dozens of with different fabrics. Quite a lot of possibilities with this pattern which is always a plus.

  6. Kathryn says:

    This is lovely! It looks so versatile too as you could dress it up or down. I’ve got quite a few dresses already that I wish I’d lowered the neckline on, especially when I sit down, so definitely something to try and remember to check every time I make a shift dress! I love your fabric choice too.

  7. sewbusylizzy says:

    So cute, I like the simplicity of Laurel. I wanted to make this before my trip. Of well I’ll just have to wait until mid-May now!
    I’m really keen to try making the top version too.

  8. Leila says:

    I love your Laurel! nice fabric and you look super casual but the nice kind of casual. You know what I mean.

    • cjgal says:

      Thanks gal! Haha yes I know exactly what you mean, that’s what I was going for actually.

      • Leila says:

        I forgot to tell you we were in Louisville last weekend for the Lego Kids Fest. Had a blast! My first time to Louisville, too. Very cool.

      • cjgal says:

        Oh sweet! Glad you had a good time. I’m sure you heard about our local college winning the national basketball championship? It’s been a freaking mad house all week!

  9. Love your Laurel! Fab fit and fabric…you did a wonderful job! šŸ™‚

  10. gingermakes says:

    This is too cute, missy! Absolutely love it!

  11. Susan says:

    That turned out so cute! Love your fabric choice.

  12. Gjeometry says:

    Great job on your Larel pattern! Fits you well and very pretty fabric.


Leave a Reply

