Gobble gobble!


One of my pet peeves is how people try to just skip over Thanksgiving and jump right into Christmas. I love me some Thanksgiving, I mean its a holiday of just doing one of my favorite things- eating lots of delicious food! What’s not to love?Even though the window for Thanksgiving is pretty short after Halloween I still wanted to put up some turkey cheer in my house, so I made a big stuffed turkey- no pun intended. My Mother in Law has this old school pattern that was printed straight from hand written directions and I am a sucker for cheesy decorations so I had to try it. My sewing time is limited these days with my teaching job so I figured this was a priority project.

This is a great project to get rid of scraps and ugly “theme” material that you don’t know what to do with. I scavenged the big buckets of fabric that we found at the yard sale and found some pretty good Fall material. The construction was easy, it is a time consuming project however, there is a lot of stuffing and top stitching, and the god awful hand stitching at the end to get his wings sewn on.

He turned out pretty cute! My friend Katie who is a crazy University of Kentucky fan has a birthday at the beginning of November so I decided that she needed a UK turkey for her house.

Good times! My friends had their annual friends Thanksgiving party last night which was a blast, and to keep the theme Chris and I wore crocheted turkey hats that my mom made for us. She has been making tons of these sily hats to donate to charity for the holidays so I decided to be selfish and have her make us a pair.Mine was a happy turkey, and Chris’s was a cooked turkey 🙂  My friends who hosted the party coincidentally had matching hats as well so we did a gobble gobble photo op. I plan to have her teach me to crochet over Christmas- imagine the possibilities!

Happy turkey day to all of you!

 

10 Comments on “Gobble gobble!”

  1. punkmik says:

    awww these are so cute! and what a great idea to use up scraps! 😀 loving the crochet hats too! very nice!

  2. hahahaha that is hilarious-what a cutie! I like the fall version better than the sports version (though I’m sure the intended recipient loved it). That last photo is fabulous. Your grandkids are going to be leaving through your albums in total shock one day XD

    • cjgal says:

      Thanks! I like the fall one better too, but I’m no fanatical sports junkie. I’m sure when I have grand kids they are going to be covered head to toe in ridiculous home sewn outfits and crochet animals. I will be THAT grandma, as I’m sure all us sewing bloggers will be. It’ll be awesome.

      • hahahaha Seriously tho’ my grandkids will be forced to sew for themselves XD I’ll prob. buy them a jet pack or two but the sewing, man I won’t have time to sew for others (much like now)! XD

  3. gingermakes says:

    Love the stuffed turkeys and the hats! I’m a big fan of Thanksgiving, too– it’s a great chance to eat and hang out while remembering to be grateful!

    • cjgal says:

      Thanks lady! I love that t’s not so commercialized and there’s no pressure to buy a bunch of crap for people or anything. It’s just about eating and chilling 🙂

      • Millie Weaver says:

        this is kind of far fetched…there was a picture of a couple dressed up as pepe and penelope for halloween. Do you know them and would they be intrested in selling those costumes? my email is ttbymili@shentel.net

  4. Oh. My. Goodness. LOL, awesome job on your turkey. I love how this is top priority for your sewing time, too funny! It really turned out great 🙂 The hats are darling too. How fun!! Happy Thanksgiving!

  5. Cat says:

    Love the hats! lol Everyone looks so cozy!


Leave a Reply

