State Fair time!


Its that time of the year for giant vegetables, livestock, krispy kreme bacon cheese burgers, and deep fried everything… the Kentucky State Fair! I love going every year and checking out all the exhibits. My stomach doesn’t take too kindly to the midway rides anymore, but everything elsemakes for a great day. One of my favorite exhibits to spend hours marveling at is the quilt and textiles. Although, the textile section is usually more for a good laugh as opposed to inspiration.Literally anyone can enter just about any sort of item or animal in the fair, and it certainly shows! Here are a few of the clothing items that were on display:

Check out this blue ribbon winner. I get that this is a child’s overall outfit, however my question is how old is this child? The pant legs were nearly as long as a pair of my own pants (spare me the short jokes) but I don’t see any kid over the age of 5 to be willing to sport this in public.

And how about this gem, a fringe skirt made up completely with felt and bedazzled with matching buttons. Yeah girl you know you want this look!

I found this dress which is actually pretty nice, I like the vintage shape and the button cuff sleeves. It was by far the winner in my book. Perhaps I will enter an item next year, you do get a free ticket to the fair if nothing else!

There were tons of quilts, probably 15 aisles full. Many of them are so intricate and were made with meticulously placed tiny pieces of fabric it blows your mind how much time is spent on them. The quilts are also divided into categories of machine sewed and hand stitched. I think I would go bonkers hand stitching a huge quilt for probably over two years, as that’s how long many of them took. Unreal! Here are a few of the fun and kooky ones that I enjoyed the most, as well as some more modern ones.

You aint nothin but a hound dog!

You ain’t nothin but a hound dog!

Hmm.. an alien holding scissors while being pulled on skies by a couple of kegs. Nice!

Ay big Durl! Tell ma to git her stewin pot, I shot me a critter!

This tree quilt was really cool, it almost looked like a painting on the wall from a distance. I happen to love trees too, so maybe that’s why I like it so much.

Pretty pretty angel kitty

This was one of the grand prize quilts which they showcased behind glass. It was an impressive work of art, I couldn’t get over the insane detailing that was put into the stitching. Almost made me want to start quilting.. almost.

And of course it isn’t the state fair without oversized vegetables and crazy farm animals! We even stayed for the rooster crowing contest.

Haha ok I think I took waaay too many pictures at the Fair this year. But it sure was a rootin tootin good ole time!

12 Comments on “State Fair time!”

  1. Jennifer says:

    lmao! thanks for sharing ~ I’ve never been to a state fair like that, growing up in NYC – just doesn’t happen there. Your captions are so funny! Looks like fun though – maybe I should try to visit the next state fair 🙂
    And I was thinking – you should enter something you make – the clothes you sew is awesome!

    • cjgal says:

      Oh yes you must! My family all lives in NYC and while there’s definitely a LOT of things I get to do up that I don’t here, the good old country state fairs are a joy I would miss. I think I will enter a sewing item, why the heck not?

  2. wow, I agree the tree quilt is amazing!! a piece of artwork–how beautiful.

  3. punkmik says:

    i love the alien! how much time must go into these pieces! amazing!

  4. prttynpnk says:

    I know alot of people that would -pardon me- kill for a critter shootin’ memory quilt! Whats the best/worst thing you ate at the ‘far’ (thats how its pronounced here)….

    • cjgal says:

      Well here at the fer (I reckon that’s how folks talk down here) they used to have a hot beef sundae. It was basically shredded beef with mashed potatoes and gravy piled up and a cherry tomato on top. It was pretty disgusting

  5. gingermakes says:

    How fun! I think that black dress is New Look 6000, if you wanted to make your own!

  6. Kristin says:

    That looks like so much fun! My mom actually taught a quilt class on how to make bargello quilts (the orange grand prize one behind glass). I have hers hanging in my basement! Not nearly as complicated as this big one, though. They’re made up of strips of variegated colours, and arranged with this mathematical diagram so the light-dark, etc, gets shifted in a certain pattern. I will probably attempt one someday! Once I actually start sewing again…


Leave a Reply

