Who wore it better?


That’s right people, the days of little Paris Hilton purse size chihuahuas is over. The new hot celebrity pet is the chicken! Case in point Tori Spelling’s white silkie bantum Coco (she must have a good stylist!) and my own fuzzy chicken Jamal. Now that I have jumped on the exotic pet bandwagon, the question stands… wore it better?? er carried it better.

While you all ponder that deep question, I will show off my newest dress from New Look 6802. This pattern has been around for a while but I thought it would be perfectly suited for this paint splatter material. This material is from Joann’s, and I have seen probably 5 people make up dresses with it in the last couple years (Joann’s clearly changes their stock frequently… not!) but I have always drooled over it so when I saw the bolt show up at Joann’s I immediately snatched it up! I thought that the twist front would break up the paint splatter pattern nicely, and it looks a lot like the new Burda twist front dress but less expensive 🙂

This was an easy dress to throw together, obviously the most challenging part was the twist front but that was a piece of cake with the easy instructions. It was fun to make the gathers and try something different. The dress itself is super comfy, you just pull it on and go. The neckline is low but I am not shy about showing off some cleave so I didn’t take it up too much! I wore this o our friend’s outdoor wedding last night, it was easy to move around and dance in and had extra give for the delicious BBQ they served! hee hee

Until later my friends, gotta go make Jamal some vintage outfits!

20 Comments on “Who wore it better?”

  1. Cherie says:

    Great dress, looks very sophisticated in the fabric you chose! Love the chickie too! You make it hands over fist over Tori, she’s never been one of my favorites, a case of arrested development. With your smile and style, you’re it!

  2. Wow, that is cute! I may have to add that one to my list of patterns to buy! I would love to make one with sleeves!
    ~Jamie

  3. sewbusylizzy says:

    That fabric IS drool-worthy! Great match of pattern and fabric.
    Love the chicken accessorizing – did it also attend the wedding?

  4. punkmik says:

    I love Jamal! He is so cute and you definitely carried the chicken better! 😀 The new dress is to die for! Love the cut and it compliments the pattern! very well though out! 😀

  5. gingermakes says:

    Fuzzy chicken!! This dress is absolutely adorable– love the pattern, love the fabric, love the fit! Great job!

  6. prttynpnk says:

    When she carried that chicken around on craft wars I almost died! She is so special, but not as special as your dress!!

    • cjgal says:

      That’s where I saw the chicken the first time too! I was like hey! I have one of those too, only I don’t dress mine up or let it run around the house in chicken diapers 😉 craft wars is pretty entertaining though.

  7. CGCouture says:

    LOL! My mom used to raise (and maybe will again now that she’s got more space) those little fluffy chickens, and it was just adorable to watch the little balls of fluff pecking in the yard. 🙂 I love the dress, and your choice of accessory. 😉

    • cjgal says:

      Haha thanks! We actually just got anther silkie Bantum that is blue (grayish blue color) we named her Reggie. I figured Jamal needed a friend since she’s among a bunch of big chickens, they all get along great though:) they are so fun, you should totally encourage your mom to raise some more!

  8. wow, awesome fabric, it seems to really fit with the pattern. Great choice–you are rockin it! and your fluffy chicken is so cute! 🙂

  9. jennysews2 says:

    Love this dress! I found your blog from Pattern Review and I really like the dresses you’ve made. I’m going to have to try this pattern, hopefully it looks just as nice on me. Thanks for sharing 🙂

    • cjgal says:

      Thanks Jenny! This is a pretty easy pattern, you’ll do just fine with it! Send me pics of what you come up with, I would love to see your version 🙂

  10. youseef44 says:

    very nice dress…you wore it better..awesome fabric & nice black chicken ..wish you the best…

  11. dressesandme says:

    What a great pattern, I love the twist front look. and it looks superb on you!

  12. Black accessories are more timeless than white so I would say your chicken wins hands down 😉

    Very cute dress and blog — just found you by way of PR. We have a pet duck (named Doozy), so I understand the love of the barnyard fowl.

    Looking forward to seeing more of your creations!

    Katrina


Leave a Reply

