I heart Colette Ginger


My copy of the Colette Ginger skirt FINALLY arrived last week and I immediately got out my scissors and started cutting! Super excited! I wanted to make the second version with the country-esque waist line in a dark denim. I love denim skirts but my favorite one is so worn that a hole has started growing in the rear. Not a good look, time to upgrade! I really wanted this one to be a cowgirl skirt, which really motivates me to find some awesome cowgirl boots to wear with it. That will be another endeavor…

Funny enough yesterday I read fellow blogger Kim’s post about adjusting an existing pattern to mimic the waistband effect of the ginger skirt. Her’s turned out super cute, AND it had pockets! The ginger skirt doesn’t include pockets but I really felt that these were needed especially in a jean skirt. I have seen this tutorial that other bloggers (like Lauren’s awesome version) have used to make scalloped pockets and I just loved the look of it so much that I followed the directions step by step and shamefully copied her design. Whatever, copying is the sincerest form of flattery!

To start I needed to draft my pockets. I didn’t have any tracing paper or fancy transfer paper so I went into the cupboards to see what I could make do with. What did I find? Parchment paper! Honestly this is probably the first time it has seen the sunlight outside our cabinet in a looong time, cuz this sista don’t bake!

I traced the outer edge of my front skirt pattern piece and drew in my seam allowance.

Next, I drew the scallops for the pockets. I tried to measure these out proportionately with the tutorial since hers were so symmetrical.

Then I drew in my pocket depth. I made my pockets pretty deep, you know- for all my money honey 😉

Next I used another piece of parchement paper and copied the outline of the pocket but extended the upper corner to make a big rectangle, this is the hip piece.

Then using anther sheet of paper I traced the pocket piece to make the facings.

And that’s it, just two extra pattern pieces to cut out. I followed the rest of the tutorial which was very clear and easy to follow. The only other change I made to the skirt was narrowing the hemline about 2 inches because I have a short waist. I also used a jeans zipper instead of an invisible one, I think the metal looks cool exposed.

 

I LOOOVE this skirt, I am already anticipating another one. The ginger skirt population in my closet could soon get very out of hand!

 

 

 

 

21 Comments on “I heart Colette Ginger”

  1. gingermakes says:

    So cute! Love the topstitching details on the pockets!

  2. AllisonF says:

    LOVING it! Absolutely adorable. Cute shoes to boot!

  3. punkmik says:

    That turned out so well!!! I love that look! I have actually put the Ginger pattern on my “to purchase list”. Since you pointed me to the scalloped pocket version I want to try a few other things. Love the button detail too! Looks amazing!

  4. Melizza says:

    The pockets and skirt look great. The Ginger pattern might be my favorite pattern of all time. It’s so fun to play with.

  5. sewbusylizzy says:

    Love it! Pockets & the zip are a great touch. I must make this, just can’t decide whether to make it in blue or red suede!

  6. CGCouture says:

    I love it! This turned out so absolutely fabulous, and I’m excited to check out how to make a shaped waistband for a skirt pattern I already own. Thanks for the links!

    BTW, did you ever get your pattern from the giveaway?

    • cjgal says:

      Thank you! Yes I did, I love it thank you so much! I love the blue lace trim too, I’m saving it for the perfect project. You Rock!

  7. Cuckoo Chanel says:

    Gorgeous, girl!! Really nice work.

  8. ahh! LOVE the pockets, nothing says country cowgirl like denim and scallops! very cute.

  9. Lucycat says:

    Absolutely love this skirt. You look great in it. Think I’m going to have to make one myself!

  10. […] Colette Ginger skirt. I can’t remember who’s I saw first but I love both Lladybird and Stitch n Bitch’s versions of the Ginger. I think this pattern is made for denim. I made my version out of a really […]


Leave a Reply

