Bugging out!


My very dear friend Johanna just turned the big 3-0 and I had to miss her big birthday party which was a big bummer, it sounded like quote the hoo-rah. To make up for missing out on the fun I wanted to make her a fun dress, and I remember her mentioning a while back that she wanted to make a bug dress, as in a dress with insect print all over it. I thought that actually sounded really cool! I found the perfect cotton bug print, its black on a cream background, from far away you can’t tell they are bugs so in my mind that tones it down a bit and makes it less hokey. After making my plaid Lisette dress I decided that would be a great dress for the print, its simple and fairly straight forward and its an easy dress to wear.

The bug were printed on an angle so I had to be precise about the way I cut the pieces so that they would line up straight. It wasn’t too big of a task but I can see that this would be taxing on a complicated garment. Luckily this one only had about 5 pieces.

I followed the same steps as I did with my plaid version, I made a zipper down the back as opposed to the side zipper, and I eliminated the facings and just used bias tape. She and I are more or less the same size so I based the measurements and fittings to myself, and in the end it fit her like a glove!

18 Comments on “Bugging out!”

  1. Andrew says:

    This is great. I don’t wear dresses, but I do like bugs. Maybe I can attempt to make a bug cape (I think it’s the only thing I could possibly do).

  2. sewbusylizzy says:

    This gives me the creeps in a good way!! Absolutely love it. I’ll send over my measurement shall I? Where did you get that fabric?

  3. prttynpnk says:

    buggy-wonderful! I’m bookmarking this for any attempts I make at directional fabric changes- you’re my hero!

  4. gingermakes says:

    How cute! It totally fits perfectly– always amazing when you’re sewing for someone else! Good job!

  5. Andrea says:

    Ha, this print makes me smile. Well done! I have yet to sew clothes for anyone who’s not a tiny child, so bravo on getting a good fit. Glad she likes it.

    • cjgal says:

      Thanks! I tea
      Ly like making stuff or people but this one was easier since she and I are the same size. Usually I stick w knits when sewing garments for others since they are much more forgiving if I’m off

  6. Stacie says:

    I love this! I’m sure your friend did too. What a cheeky print. πŸ™‚

  7. CGCouture says:

    Cool fabric that made for a very cute dress! πŸ™‚

  8. urbanfarminglouisville says:

    I have to say, this is definitely my fav piece in my closet! You know me too well and I LOVE my dress. Hands down, one of the best B-day presents I have ever been gifted! Thank you, you are an amazingly talented and wonderful friend!


Leave a Reply

