Perfect plaid sundress


I have been eyeballing this vintage rainbow plaid cotton from someone’s grandma’s estate sale on Etsy for about a month. I finally talked the seller down on the price and I snatched it up, I am inlove with the bright colors and how light and airy the cotton is. I washed it to get the grandma stank out of it and it didn’t shrink in the tiniest bit. Its strange though because when I iron this I can still get a hint of old lady closet from the steam, but eff it. I have had the Lisette passport dress pattern in my stash for a hot one, and this was a match made in heaven. Its a simple dress, and the light cotton will be great for these hot ass Kentucky summers.

Here I am at the Cherokee Triangle Art Fair this weekend, my most favorite annual art fair.

 

The dress was pretty fun to make, the darts in the front really make the dress. I have read several of the reviews for the dress and some people left the pleats open, however I felt like this would bother me and look a little sloppy so I stuck with the directions and sewed them closed. Also, there was an abundance of complaints about the side zipper. Having just struggled with a side zipper on my Peggy Olson dress, I got a longer zipper and sewed it in the back of the dress, I am really happy I did this, I think it turned out much better than if I had gambled with a side zipper.

I was a little tipsy when I took these pictures so don’t mind my disheveled hot mess hair. I also didn’t bother putting in the facings as many others suggested and I just used turquoise bias tape instead, worked out great no muss no fuss. I love this dress! I got mad compliments too, I think this dress will be making the rounds quite a bit this summer 😀

30 Comments on “Perfect plaid sundress”

  1. Dawn says:

    Great job, it’s a really cute dress : )

  2. DC says:

    Love it !!

  3. stitchywitch says:

    I somehow missed that you live in Louisville too! I didn’t go to the art fair, which is sad since we can walk there, but my husband went this morning.

    I love the plaid!

  4. Heavenly!! Love this dress! Fun colors, fits perfectly. Great job!!

  5. stitchywitch says:

    I somehow missed that you live in Louisville too! We live right by the art fair, but I didn’t go this year – I had to be up super early this morning, so I was too tired.

    Love the plaid! I’ve found that a little white vinegar in the wash gets rid of that lingering grandma smell.

    • cjgal says:

      Yes! fellow Louisvillian, I love this city. The fair was a lot of fun this year and I actually bought something- a wooden owl to hang outside on a tree and a chicken ornament in honor of our new brood.
      Thanks for the tip, I will have to give that a try. The smell could be worse but I’d rather look vintage then smell like it 😉

  6. sewbusylizzy says:

    Lovely Grandma. I just finished the passport dress in polka dots, hoping to post about it tonight. I love your fabric!

    • cjgal says:

      Oooh I can’t wait to see yours! This pattern is great, its one I could make several versions of and never get tired it.

      • sewbusylizzy says:

        Me too! I’ve been resisting but it’s such a lovely little one to make I think I might sneak a few into the queue! Watch this space… I’ve taken the pictures just need to write the post!

  7. prttynpnk says:

    That plaid was definitely worth fighting for!

  8. youseef44 says:

    Amazing work, the colors are extremely beautiful, perfect consistency in connecting the lines, you have the patience in the sewing work, the beginning of spring I wish you a wonderful summer with the warm colors of the rainbow and a lot of beautiful ideas that show the beauty and fun.

  9. ShanniLoves says:

    That is really cute! Love the fabric!

  10. Burke says:

    Okay – I have to know about these bust darts – I just worked on this dress for the second time and I haven’t been able to figure out whether or not these bust darts are sewn down or not. Mine are stitched on the inside, but they create a bubble around the bust – can you help? It’s incredibly frustrating! THANK YOU!

    • cjgal says:

      What kind of fabric are you using? That can make a big difference. When I sew darts I start at the bottom raw edge of the fabric and sew inward if that makes sense. I sew past the fabric a bit to get longer thread at the end and I tie a knot off at the point of the dart, it helps reduce the bubble problem. For this dress I pressed the darts towards the center and they eventually get sewed in place in the bodice when you attach the skirt. When in doubt your iron can be your best friend with darts!

      • Burke says:

        I’ve used cotton both times but my darts don’t appear to lie flat like everyone else’s. It’s not the dart point which causes the bubble – are the dart ends supposed to meet and end completely like a standard waist dart?

      • cjgal says:

        yeah, they are supposed to cross over each other on the ends ( on the wrong side). I sewed my waist line up to the point where they crisscross because I have a short torso. maybe you should try crisscrossing closer together than the pattern sizing has it, it might take away some of the extra billowing

      • Burke says:

        Yeah I must have done something wrong, I’ll check those darts again tonight. Thank you!! This has helped tremendously!!

  11. Burke says:

    Could you elaborate more on stitching down the bust darts? Mine has these bubbles near the bust and they look God-awful – any help would be appreciated!

  12. Cynthia says:

    Ahhhhh, this is fantastico!

  13. gingermakes says:

    This is so, so cute! I love it! That plaid is killer!

  14. THis is so pretty.. A great pattern..

  15. StephC says:

    Omg I love everything about this post, your dress and blog! Grandma stank? Tipsy photo shoot? Cool plaid dress? To heck with the husband, I think we may be soul mates…. 😉

  16. Meg says:

    That’s super cute!


Leave a Reply

