Meeee-yow


Spring is here and that means it is time to start breaking out the dresses! And no tights! Thank you Lord! I have had this little obsession as of late with shirt dresses, and those ole Lisette patterns too! I just can’t stop, I am like a moth to the flame. I got into my pattern stash and found Simplicity 2246, I have made view A a couple of times now, but haven’t attemped the short sleeved version C yet so the time is now! I stumbled into this black and white cheetah print cotton and I immediately had visions of a cheetah print shirt dress with a flared hem dancing in my head… grrr baby very grrrr!

This dress actually went really quick! I think I’m getting the hang of this shirtdress thing. I made the whole dress in this cotton print instead of going two toned as they feature it on the envelope. It buttons all the way down the front and gathers around the waist. I decided to leave out all the interfacing except for the collar, this cotton is pretty heavy and didn’t really need any extra stablizer. Its a good thing too because you can’t see underpants through the white material!

I had to take the hem up about 4 inches, and I still have it hitting just below the knee, I like that it has a bit of 40’s spunk but the cheetah print brings it more up to date. I didn’t use the the button guide, I placed them strategically to avoid any gaping holes.

I am pretty excited about this dress! While he was taking these photos I told my husband I wanted to bust this out at work tomorrow, and he acted astonished and said I should save it for a special night out. Save it? Special night out? I think not! This cheetah needs to see the town! Reeewr!

 

10 Comments on “Meeee-yow”

  1. prttynpnk says:

    Beautiful- I love it with the touch of green- great work as you always do!

  2. youseef44 says:

    Work hard and very beautiful, and beauty of the dress in the appropriate color and rare, too, spring is coming and the dress will appear more daytime beauty, is often convenient to you, you look in a very quiet elegance in this color. You me a lot of congratulations to the magic of choice,

  3. Sophia says:

    Great dress! You know, usually when animal prints are used they’re for more revealing or flowy garments, and what you’ve made is an interesting contrast, I think. Animal print with a classic, button up dress. It makes it perfect for work or a date… which means you just got more for your money 🙂

  4. Shannon says:

    I love all the dresses you make!! I awarded you the Liebster blog award!! Check out my blog post to read all about it.

    http://shanni77.blogspot.com/2012/03/liebster-blog-award.html

  5. Jo says:

    This is so cute! I love it 🙂 I found your blog through Shanni Loves 🙂

  6. cjgal says:

    Wow Thanks you all and super duper thank you Shannon! I’ve never been bestowed a blogger award before! I’m beyond flattered, I will display my liebster proud and bestow unto others as you have for me. You made my day!

  7. mujerboricua says:

    What a fabulous dress! The green belt (is it J.Crew or Gap? I think I own it) adds the right touch. Can’t wait to make this dress.

  8. Alice says:

    Just came across your version of this dress – and I LOVE it! the fabric makes it stand out from the crowd 😉


Leave a Reply

