Spring? It feels like summer!


Today was uncharacteristically hot! I think it was in the 70’s but the way I was sweating it felt like the 80s! I love it! In a preemptive nudge for Mother Nature to keep the warm weather coming, I sewed up this bright maxi dress Simplicity 2219. I made this as a birthday present for one of my girlfriends blogged here last summer, and I have been wanting to make another with this bright ikat knit that has been burning a hole in my closet for 8 months.

This time around I heeded my own advice and cut this a size down since it runs so huge. I self lined the bodice since putting liner in a knit is a bit ridiculous. It is much more comfortable this way and has more stretch. I didn’t bother adding the elastic in the waist since I left it out last time and most of the reviews people wrote said that it doesn’t take away from the fullness or serve much function for the dress. The finishing on the inside of the bodice is wonderful, it looks professional and there is no need for serging (except on the long seams of the skirt). I think my straps are a smidgen long, but they have interfacing so I am not too worried about them stretching out- no biggie.

I am pretty excited about this dress, it is long and fun, and has just enough modern day hippie vibe for a summer concert to see one of my favorite bands- already bought my tickets!

 

2 Comments on “Spring? It feels like summer!”

  1. Christiana says:

    Wow! what a fantastic look. Great job!
    Christiana

  2. Its absolutely gorgeous! You look beautiful in it and it is so summery! Enjoy wearing it to the concert.


Leave a Reply

