Simplicity “Lisette” 2245 top in green


This Lisette pattern has been in my stash for a while now so today after finishing up some long overdue projects I decided to knock this bad boy out as well. I wanted to make the top version, and I am in love with the green version of the dress on the pattern envelope so I found a similar cotton fabric. It was an easy project, but I keep finding that when I sew with cotton no matter how challenging the piece is, fabric choice makes a huge difference in difficulty level. Captain Obvious here, right? Hey, when you are self taught sometimes these blatant “eureka’s” can lead you to a path of glory.

I followed the instructions complete from start to finish and only have a couple alterations/gripes on the finished product.  The pattern instructed to interface the entire yolk and sleeve cuffs, however I think I have quickly learned to spot “over interfaced” patterns and when this much stabilizer is really neccessary. I went ahead and omitted all the interfacing on this shirt all together. My cotton is pretty thick and sturdy and with the extra interfacing it would have felt like wearing cardboard. For thinner more flimsy material I would interface the yolk, but not the sleeve cluffs.

Second, I had a feeling this top would turn out short so I added a couple inches to the length. Well as you can see, it still ended up being a little shorter than I would prefer, but since I have a short torso and I am pushing 5’3″ the length is acceptable. That being said however, for someone who is taller than me this top would end up being a belly shirt! I don’t know if that was what they were going for with the look, but if you aren’t into the Britney Spears circa 1999 look I’d make sure to add on at least 3 to 4 inches to the length.

Finally, I struggled immensely with the button tabs on the back neck closure. I always get pretty ticked when I have to invert material through tiny channels but this was ridiculous. It was so small you were supposed to use a needle to turn it inside out. I finally said screw it and just made buttonholes. The tabs on the yolk are clearly less than perfect, but oh well- I have long hair.

Other than that I love the top, I would make it again with these changes in mind for sure. Its snowing outside now so I am wearing it out with a long sleeved white shirt underneath. It looks cute layered so don’t wait until summer to break it out!

11 Comments on “Simplicity “Lisette” 2245 top in green”

  1. judy says:

    This is soooo cute.. I have this pattern,it has been in my stash , for a long time.. Now..I am going to make it..

  2. AllisonF says:

    Love it as always. Can you share where you got your boots? I have this pattern and have never considered making the top but I think I will give it a try.I have made the dress and thought it was great. I may see what I have in my stach to make the shirt with! Thanks for sharing.

    • cjgal says:

      Thanks Allison! the boots are Franco sarto, I bought them at the zappos outlet which is about 20 minutes from louisville so they were much more affordable than online. The lisette patterns always end up turning out great, very wearable for many shapes. You should totally try it, the top doesn’t use much fabric either, I only bought 2 yards for this one. Hope it turns out good!

  3. prttynpnk says:

    Ah, lisette- got to love. This is so cute on you! Great little top.

  4. Louella says:

    Such a fine looking top!

  5. Cheryl says:

    Super cute – love the fabric choice! I’d like that one elongated to dress length. Not a big fan of the pouch like thing on the actual dress – has anyone made that?

  6. Emily says:

    What a cute top!! Thanks for your review- I hate over interfaced things (and most interfacings ahem) and too short shirts (I’m also 5’3”). Anyway, I just picked up this pattern and wanted to see how it looked on an actual person. Yours looks fantastic!

  7. Victoria Stevens says:

    I have just purchased this pattern too! It is super cute and I really like the top in the pattern. Thank you for your advice… I thought it looked a little short and was going to add a few cm’s to the bottom, now i definately will! Also advice about the interfacing. All helpful. Love the choice of material you used.

  8. Paula Harvey says:

    Any chance to get a copy of this pattern from you?


Leave a Reply

