Christmas Crafts: McCalls 5205, McCalls 6219, and McCalls 3777


As I was putting up my Christmas tree this year I noticed that I really don’t have many other Christmas decorations for our house.  We don’t even have a wreath for our door anymore, it somehow disappeared over the years. This made me a little excited however, because McCalls had a $0.99 pattern sale a few weeks ago and they have so many cute Christmas crafts! Our house isn’t very big so I picked out decorations that would fit into specific spots in our house and I really wanted to make a wreath for the front door. The Santa wreath on the McCall’s pattern 5205 was sooo cute, I had to make it (even though it looked pretty complicated). He ended up being fairly step by step easy to follow, but very time consuming and used all sorts of different fabric, remnants and other craft materials.

And here’s my version hanging on our yellow door:

Besides the pure time alone I spent cutting out all the tiny pieces to sew and glue, the patchwork hat probably took the longest amount of time to sew. The pattern called for decorative stitching to sew the pieces together. Although I could have omitted this step and just sewed them on with straight stitches and called it a day, I thought the decorative stitches gave it much more depth and character. The beard also took a fair amount of time, it was made of 32 round circular curlicues that each had to be sewed into loops and hot glued individually. I ended up cutting a few extras to fill in bald spots and in the process I think I have third degree burns on my fingers. That part really sucked!

His eyes were blue buttons that I had, they were smaller than the ones the pattern called for but oh well. I thought it was strange how the instructions said to sew the button eyes on but then you turn around and glue his wooden ball nose on… it would be much quicker to just glue them all on at once, but hey what do I know? I substituted the little star ornament and just cut up a fake branch of pine needles and holly which were at the craft store for under a $1.

I couldn’t find little glasses anywhere so for now this Santa has 20/20 vision. My favorite part of this Santa was putting real blush on his cheeks to make them rosy.

Despite how much time this project took, I totally had a blast making it, and I would definitely make it again as a gift for someone worth the time, like my Mom. There is a witch version for Halloween included in the pattern which I plan to make next year for sure (she looks much less time consuming too).

For my next project I wanted to make something for the kitchen, and I noticed the little gingerbreadman and santa chef dolls on McCalls 6219. These seemed like they would be much quicker to make since they were much smaller, however these little guys also had many little pieces and steps that soaked up some time. The gingerbread man went quicker than the santa doll since he was more or less one big piece and the apron and hat were the extra separates to make. Santa had the boots, the pants, the shirt, head and hands that all had to be pieced together. Plus he had much more stuff to be glued on with his beard and hair, and the fur around his sleeves and boots.

One thing that was odd about this pattern was that it said to draw on the mouth and eyes for both dolls, but I thought this would look kind of crappy and unfinished so I stitched these on.

This pattern was also easy and fun to make, the only gripe I have is that there was a lot of hand stitching involved, the legs, arms and hats all had to be hand stitched on to the dolls.

Finally, I wanted something to put up on our breakfast bar that would be more of  bigger centerpiece, and I saw a review on this Christmas tree on McCalls 3777 so I gave it a shot. This pattern also came with a tree skirt, ornaments and a stocking so I think I got more bang for my buck (literally, a buck). This was a super duper easy pattern, just cut out 6 trees from your fabric, 3 each contrasting and then you just sew them all together straight down the center and stuff them. I used red and green velvet material. I omitted the lace on the edges and added jingle bells on the branches instead. This was such an easy and cheap decoration to make that I made one for my friend Katie as a Christmas gift. She is a University of Kentucky fanatic so hers is of course UK themed.

I think that the cotton or more sturdy fabrics are better suited for this project since they don’t stretch out when you stuff the tree and they maintain their shape.

I had so much fun doing these Christmas crafts but at this point I am all crafted out for a while! I am looking forward to some new projects I have lined up, one of which is a coat. I have never made one before so this should be a new adventure for me!

12 Comments on “Christmas Crafts: McCalls 5205, McCalls 6219, and McCalls 3777”

  1. DeEtte says:

    Looks like we were both working on the same project at the same time. I bought this pattern and fabric two years ago and finally sat down to put it together. I choose not to do the patchwork hat and went with christmas fabric instead. The beard was time consuming but was fun glueing on the felt beard. Everyone loved the finished Santa, so I ended up making two more, and one I made in green. I also made the witch at halloween and then used the pattern for a baby shower gift making the half moon and sewed a stuffed bear sleeping on the moon. It was very easy and fun, who knew this pattern could be used in different ways.

    • cjgal says:

      Oooooh what a great idea! I was planning on making the witch but I love the bear sleeping on the moon idea! I just might steal it >:) If you have photos of your finished wreaths online I’d love to see them!

      • DeEtte says:

        You can view the witch and santa on my web site deliciousdishesbydeette.com
        Go under the blog pages and you will see the photos.
        Happy New Year!

  2. Tracy S. says:

    I adore the Santa!!! I’m going to make one now. Great job on everything!!!

  3. Tona says:

    Thanks for sharing!!!!

  4. Ana Coimbra says:

    Hi,
    I love this wreath. You can tell me where i find the instructions for make it?
    thank you.
    kiss

  5. Michelle says:

    Having trouble understanding the instruction for the beard. Am I making it too complicated?! Number 12: fold each beard section into three approximately equal loops… How did you do yours?!

    • cjgal says:

      I just pinched each curly Q so that they would be in loops that stand up (not lay flat) so that if you look at it from the side it looks like three “loops”. Then I sewed a seam through it to retain the little bunch. Does that make sense? Hard to explain without a visual. You just want the pieces to be three dimensional so that it makes a big fluffy beard when you glue them on.

      • Michelle says:

        Great thanks. I think that’s what I was thinking as well. The picture on the instructions makes you think about it more than you need to!


Leave a Reply

