Santa Dog is coming to town! McCalls 6259


Ho ho ho!!! Give me some bacon!

Ok I know the dog costumes are getting out of hand especially since I have an 80 lb labrador retriever that most people probably wouldn’t dress up like a Paris Hilton dog, but this Santa costume was too cute to pass up. Our local JoAnns had a $.99 McCalls pattern sale the other week and I wanted to stock up on some craft patterns, especially Christmas decor since we don’t have much other than our tree and some nutcrackers. So while looking through the Holiday patterns online, I stumbled onto McCalls 6259. This pattern is obviously for a much smaller dog so I had to make “big” some adjustments.

For the body I referenced her jaildog costume to scale it up. The fabric I used was a stretchy red velvet so it had much more give that just a plain cotton. For whatever reason I have had a huge stash of this white fur material in my sewing closet, so it was time to be put to good use! The belt was black bias tape that I doubled up, and the buckle was off an old belt that I was planning on giving away. 

The construction of this costume was very straight forward. I didn’t even bother hemming parts of it because the material doesn’t fray or curl, and let’s be honest.. its a dog costume. I don’t think Harper will be too critical about it. I used velcrow for the enclosureunder her belly and the hat. I think she may need some help from safety pins on Christmas day though since it pulls open when she sits or rolls around.

I think she looks like one festive doggie and I anticipate many treats in this Santa Dog’s future!

 

Leave a Reply

