Vogue 8663, Blue striper in town


I have had this awesome bright indigo blue wacky striped knit fabric in my stash for a while from a sale, but I’ve been holding out on using it because it needed just the right simple pattern to show case the busy stripe pattern. I’ve had the Vogue very easy 8663 pattern for a while and since it had such an easy and straight forward design I decided to go for it in the sleeve version. I reeeeeally love how it turned out! I think this may be my new favorite Fall/winter dress.

This material is very thin so immediately opted out of the zipper and just cut the back pieces on the fold of the fabric. The pleating on the neckline worked out ok but I didn’t want to use the bias tape to avoid bulkiness. I just make a self hemline, the bottom pleating fringe is visible  at times but it looks like a ruffle detail so no big deal.

I did add the bias tape to the armholes however, since the material was so thin I felt that I would need the extra reinforcement. Matching up the stripes on the sleeves prooved to be a bit challenging but you can only really tell when I have my hands up on my hips which luckily is a signiture photo pose, not my normal life stature! One cool thing aout this fabric is that although it super light and thin, it is not sheer so I didn’t have to bother lining it or wearing a slip. BIG plus!

I think I really like this dress because it reminds me of some of the knt striped dresses I wore in the 80’s as a child (but obviously much more stylish and modern) I’m lookin forward to rocking it out at the upcoming Holiday parties

3 Comments on “Vogue 8663, Blue striper in town”

  1. AllisonF says:

    As always – outstanding!

  2. Louella says:

    Snazzy and sensational looking dress on you! Your pic added lots of cheer to my morning! Thanks!

  3. Andrea says:

    Love the fabric and shape of this dress. I may have to try this pattern!
    -Andrea


Leave a Reply

