Bad to the Bone!


Our dog Harper is a good girl at heart, but  she’s got a naughty side! The offenses: laying on our couches, getting into the garbage, begging for food, eating the cat’s food… GUILTY!!

This year I found the Simplicity 2519 dog patterns, I think this has been around for a couple years but they were all so cute I couldn’t resist! And the best part, they have a Harper dog modeling all the costumes 🙂  I was torn between the rabbit and the jail suit, Chris really wanted her to wear the tuxedo but ultimately the jailsuit won due to it being the quickest one to make.

The costume was simple, I had to cut it a few inches wider than the biggest size since Harper’s a little more rotund than Simplicity’s definition of an extra large dog. Luckily it fit her well! The underbelly closes with velcro and she had plenty of room to move around. 

Unfortunately I didn’t have enough material to perfectly match up the stripes, but I don’t think she minds. The hat was a little tricky because it was super stiff with interfacing,and the top circle had to be sewn to the crown after the crown seam was sewn. It involved some maneuvering around the machine. The instructions said to hand sew the elastic band to the crown, but I just used white thread to match the bottom stripe and machine stitched it, it blends in just fine and is a lot more sturdy. The most fun part was getting to use my font stitching and embroider Bad to the Bone on the front 😀  I had originally wanted to put “Bad Dog” however my brother in law Josh said that Harper would get a complex from people calling her bad dog all night, and I guess he has a point. Bad to the bone is pretty fitting though!

Even though Harper’s gotta do some time, I think she will score big on Halloween treats this year!

 

5 Comments on “Bad to the Bone!”

  1. prttynpnk says:

    So cute! Do you know how much benedryl it would take to get my dachshunds in full costume? I’m not saying that know the amount- I swear I don’t drug them, but can’t get them in anything but a fancy clown ruff… you have a very good pup!

  2. Kyle says:

    I just left a comment on PR but just saw your blog too–I’m impressed that your dog is ok with wearing a hat!

  3. cjgal says:

    Aww thanks! She really is great, I’m lucky to have such a chill and obedient dog. She usually doesn’t like to wear hats because they cover her ears but this hat sits on top of her head and doesn’t obstruct or shift around so she was good with it. I almost made the rabbit costume but that would’ve been a different story…

  4. Maria says:

    Hi! I came across your blog today and I LOVE it! I’ve been wanting to take up sewing as a hobby forever, and all of your looks have inspired me to commit and take the plunge. I was worried things would end up looking so dowdy and tacky – but honestly everything I’ve seen from your blog is so cute, I had no idea patterns were that up with the trends!

    What machine would you recommend for a beginner? I am thinking about the Brother cs6000i, would that be a good starter machine? I will definitely keep up with your blog as I get my feet wet sewing!

    • cjgal says:

      Thank you Maria- I am so flattered to have inspired you! There are a lot of really fabulous patterns out there, I think my favorites are the Vogue patterns (the most expensive ones of course).
      I actually started sewing on a $100 mechanical Singer machine. It didn’t have any bells or whistles and gave me some problems but for a starter machine I think that the mechanical machine taught me a lot. However now that I have moved on to an electronic machine I could never go back! I think that Brother looks pretty good, I would suggest going to a local dealer and talk to them about what kind of sewing you want to do, I wanted something that would work best for construction only, I don’t do any embroidery or quilting. They can suggest good machines at your price point and probably give you a good deal.
      I would love to see what you come up with- good luck on your sewing journey!


Leave a Reply

