Vogue 8750, new adventures in corduroy!


This month has started the new season of Halloween costumes, every year my friends and I pick a theme (last year was Jim Henson characters) and we all choose characters and I usually get commissioned to make a lot of them. Needless to say I have already been busy getting my costume madness on so I haven’t had much garment sewing time. I really wanted to start making some Fall items to add to my wardobe and I have had my eye on this Vogue skirt 8750, wich looked like a quick sew. It immediately struck me as a perfect corduroy skirt, not a suggested fabric, but I figured if moleskin and denim are recommended then corduroy would also work. The pencil skirt version is cute and I love the look of pencil skirts, but I find this shape to be a bit constrictive so I opted for the more flared A-line cut.

I have never worked with corduroy, and I have heard that it is not an easy fabric to work with since it has such a heavy grain to follow. Well maybe because this was such an easy pattern, or because this is such a fine wale, but I had not problems. In fact I found corduroy to be one of the easer fabrics I have worked with since it stays put. This corduroy was a raspberry color and had a little stretch to it which makes it really comfy.

The pattern came together very quickly and easily, although I way over estimated my size and length. I chose the middle length E, and after constructing the whole skirt I had to take in the sizes an inch each and I cut about 3 inches off the bottom and put a fairly wide hem in. Before doing this it was almost at my ankles! It fits great after the alterations although the seams and curves don’t match up perfectly anymore which annoys me a bit, but won’t stop me from wearing this. The zipper was kind of a pain too because I couldn’t get the back yoke to match up either, but I guess it isn’t too bad. My favorite part is the ribbon binding on the inside (even though only I will see it) I found these cheetah grosgrain ribbon and it rocks!

I would recommend this skirt with two thumbs up- I think I might actually try the pencil skirt version too. I really like the brown one they pictured on the envelope. I think this will see a lot of wear this upcoming Fall and Winter for sure.

On a side note, I went to my friend Jackie’s Mad Men party and I got to¬†sport my seersucker dress, very 50’s! Check out my Peggy inspired hairdo, photo courtesy of my buddy Todd:

2 Comments on “Vogue 8750, new adventures in corduroy!”

  1. AllisonF says:

    Very pretty. I like the pencil skirt as well. I might make one for myself. Looks like a good basic.

  2. prttynpnk says:

    I love all the lines to this- great job- I plan a winter full of corduroy- you are spurring me on!
    Whaqts this years halloween theme?


Leave a Reply

