Lisette 2060- getting ready for Fall!


 

As soon as I saw the new line of Lisette Simplicity patterns I immediately became obsessed with 2060. This is a very retro 60’s inspired dress (in my opinion) with a contrasting neckline and a matching belt. The lisette fabrics that were released at Joann’s were actually really pretty too, however even on sale I thought they were overpriced so I decided to make my own version.

 I had this fun retro scalloped cotton print which was perfect for this dress, so I began a search for a purple/raspberry solid that would go with it well. I found this fuschia material which I am still not entirely sure what ts called, it is a polyester on the outside and the interior is a shiny satin. Its a bit heavier than the cotton, but since this is a Fall dress it is well suited. Although I will say that since its thicker it doesn’t gather as well with the belt, but it won’t stop me from rocking it out.

Here is the interior:

The dress itself was not bad, the challenge was mostly working with two fabrics that differed in texture, but they were both very stable soI didn’t struggle too much. The center neckline on the dress piece was supposed to be gathered, however this fabric wasn’t having it with the gathering and it would have looked too bunched and scrunched had I forced it so I just made one pleat instead.

Sorry I took these pictures at night and the contrast is a little wacky. This dress also gave me the opportunity to try out the button holes on my new machine and they turned out absolutely perfect! I was so astonished by how automatic and beautiful they turned out with virtually no effort- I am used to making my own manual button holes with my mechanical machine. Truth be told though, I did screw one up with my seam ripper, but I was able to hand repair it- it doesn’t look as fabulous as it did pre-hole torn but the button covers it so oh well.

The rest of this dress was easy- it was a box dress and just pieced together like a simple puzzle. My favorite part of this dress was making the obi-belt. It was so simple and had decorative top stitching added around in rows. Mine is definitely not pristine by any means, but nobody will notice! I think I may use the belt pattern by itself to make some fun belts for other outfits.

I love this dress, it was definitely a fun one to make and it really has me excited for Fall clothes! I am not completely done with summer yet, but after making this dress I am starting to look for more retro/vintage inspired pieces. My husband and I have been on a Mad Men marathon kick lately too so I am really falling in love with the 50’s poofy style dresses too.

8 Comments on “Lisette 2060- getting ready for Fall!”

  1. prttynpnk says:

    I love that! Your fabric picks are prettier than the patern cover, I think.

  2. AllisonF says:

    Absolutely gorgeous. I did not know there were new Lisette patterns to be had!! I will be heading out soon to pick it (or them) up. I wish I had a reason to make as many pretty dresses as you do!

    • cjgal says:

      Thank you- I love all the Lisette patterns! I got a bunch on a .99 sale. The key is to make yourself cute dresses and then come up with reasons to wear them 😉

  3. Erica B. says:

    I found your blog when I was googling this pattern. This is so adorable and I loved the fabric and colors you picked out. I can only hope my sewing skills can help me produce something so stylish!

  4. sewbusylizzy says:

    I am dying to make this but am stumped as to what size to make. There seems to be ALOT of ease according to the finished garment measurements. Argh. Can’t bear to cut the fabric. Can’t be bothered with a muslin… they only given finished bust measurements – are the hips the same measurement? The pattern looks pretty straight up & down?

    • cjgal says:

      its been a little while since I sewed this but it definitely is a more boxy fit meant to be cinched with a belt. This fabric had zero give to it so I went up a size and took it in where needed. Depending on your fabric it might be a little more forgiving on the hips

  5. […] I have stopped moping about and cut out not one but two projects! Hooray!After some advice from MyStitchnBitch about sizing on the Lisette Itinerary I’ve finally taken to the lovely linen with some […]


Leave a Reply

