Elizabeth is here!!


I am soooo excited, I finally got to go to Cincinnatti on Saturday and pick up my new Baby Lock Elizabeth sewing machine! She is amazing, I already feel so spoiled >:)

Right off the back I noticed how quiet she runs, she sews like butter.  Chris was in the other room and didn’t even realize that I was playing around with it. Since I already played with Jo’s machine I had a good idea of how to do all the basics. The needle threader is super convenient and I don’t have to worry about licking the end of my thread ever again! One of my favorite features is the auto thread cutter, its always such a pain to have to search around for my scissors and end up finding them in the kitchen. Whoever came up with this function is a genius, thank you!

All the stitching functions are super easy and there are soooo many of them, there are three alphabets which will be great for making gifts. There are a lot of different button stiches as well, I haven’t tried any yet but I hear that this machine is known for its neat and tidy button holes. Check out all the stitches on the card, its crazy!

Here is a test run I did, I had to try out the little allligator, how cute is he?

Here is the dashboard, there is a pocket that you can save stitch patterns in, I haven’t started diving into that just yet though.

I already have my first project planned out, I’m so stoked to finally have a big girl machine!

 

 

10 Comments on “Elizabeth is here!!”

  1. AllisonF says:

    Oooh! I am so excited for you. Enjoy some fun sewing! I cant wait to see your next project.

  2. Elizabeth says:

    I’m looking into a new sewing machine after not sewing for many years. The Babylock Elizabeth is within my price range. How are you liking it after a few months? I’m wondering about the space from the machine body to the needle, any problems with that space being too small for quilting?
    Thanks for any help you can provide.
    Elizabeth (yup that’s my name)

    • cjgal says:

      Hi- I am still really pleased with the Elizabeth. I have had a couple of instances where the thread gets jammed a bit but I think that it was my own fault. Other than that it runs perfectly. I don’tdo any quilting, however the arm is a bit fat, I do a lot of clothing contruction and sleeves can be a bit of a challenge. I feel like the area between the needle and the machine body is pretty roomy, but again I don’t do any quilting so I am not the best judge for this type of project.
      Hope this is some help, I’d suggest going to a local dealer and test driving some machines, once you find one you like do some research and try to find a good deal. I found a dealer in Cincinatti that was selling this model for half the price that my local dealer was so I took a Saturday road trip and picked it up 🙂 Best of luck to you and your sewing adventures!

    • Dani says:

      hi there Elizabeth, did you manage find a good one for quilting/ what did you choose?
      i am a quilter and have the babylock Ellisimo but am looking into a smaller one for classes and for travel..

  3. Catherine says:

    I was wondering how much you paid for it if you don’t mind me asking. I am thinking about getting it but I want to know if I am getting ripped off or not!

    • cjgal says:

      I actually hunted around a bit and the most expensive dealer was selling it for $1,500 (outrageous!!) and the most inexpensive was a dealer in New Port KY close to Cincinatti- I bought it there for $700 with tax. Its been a few months and quite a few projects, and I have no regrets on purchasing this machine. It has made my sewing life sooo much easier, I am in love with the auto thread cutter- don’t think I could go without this eer again. I actually have used many of the stitches more than I thought I would and the buttonhole stitches are perfection. The only problem I’ve had is the thread getting tangled from the bobbin from time to time, but that really hasn’t been a big deal. I definitely recommend this model, good luck with finding a good price or with which ever machine you go with!

  4. Heather says:

    I just picked up this machine today, after a not so good experience with a Pfaff that I just bought 10 days ago. I was excited that I could make the exchange, and so far the Elizabeth is awesome! I may need to check in with you if I run into something I don’t know how to do, if that’s okay!

    • cjgal says:

      Hi Heather, congrats on your new Elizabeth machine! Yes absolutely, I’d be happy to share all my knowledge. So far I have had almost no trouble from my machine, I think it’s one of the best picks out there for the price point. Good luck on your sewing endeavors!


Leave a Reply

