A Dry Top for my main man- Kwik Sew 2881


My husband’s birthday is in a week and he is turning the big 3-0 this year! We are going on a trip to West Virginia next month for a big kayaking festival called Gauley Fest, so I wanted to make him something that he could use when on the river. It is still a little warm out for him to use the union suit I made last year, so I found Kwik Sew 2881 which is a dry top that he can wear under his dry suit. Check out the hunks on the envelope, maybe I should make him the undies next time! hee hee…

Anyhow, I found some black spandex bathing suit material at Hancocks, the pattern didn’t call for much, this top only called for about a yard. After making the union suit which was a similar pattern, I didn’t want it to come out too small so I cut it extra big so that I could size it down to fit him. I ended up cutting it quite a bit since he likes these to fit a little bit snug.

I serged all the seams and went back and serged around the neckline after sewing it to fit properly. Since this is going to get wet it needs extra reinforcement, especially for what he will be using it for. I don’t think this fabric has a tendancy to unravel, however if stretched too far I think it could tear.

The shirt ended up fitting him properly, however all the cutting and sizing down made the finished product less than professional looking. The side seams were a hair short to match up with the shirt bottom, which was ok but I am a bit of a perfectionist so it annoyed me. This showed the serged seam at the bottom too, but I guess since he is wearing this as a layer underneath his dry suit on a river so ultimately it doesn’t really matter. He said he liked it and he would wear it kayaking, so I think he likes his birthday gift!

 

Happy 30th Birthday to my favorite guy! I ❤ You!

 

One Comment on “A Dry Top for my main man- Kwik Sew 2881”

  1. prttynpnk says:

    I hope my kayakin’ husband doesn’t get this idea! Great job!


Leave a Reply

