Brother Sergio is here! Just in time for Father’s Day


It’s here!! I FINALLY got a serger! I have been researching them and reading reviews to try to pick the best one and hands down the Brother 1034D appears to be the best in the less expensive range (less expensive being around $200). I have been watching Craig’s List and ebay, but even the used models were on average at least $100. I figured for another $100 I could get a brand new one that came with all its parts, instruction manual as well as instructional dvd’s, unused, I can register it online for a warranty, and if there is anything wrong with it when I plug it in I can return it.

I had a gift card to Best Buy that I earned from the Virgin Health Miles program that I participated in while they had it at work, and I went on-line and ordered him! I named him Brother Sergio, as he brought divinity to my sewing room o:)

It came pre-threaded with color coded thread which was really convenient. I now know how to tie off the ends to change thread spools, and I can also re-thread the entire machine from scratch. This was actually not as challenging as many people have said it is, the machine has a step by step color coded guide in the inside to follow. The tricky part is getting the thread pulled through the back so that it will line up properly and chain off. Thank goodness a long pair of tweezers were included!

Since I got Sergio the week before Father’s Day I decided the perfect first project for him would be pj pants for my Dad and my Father in Law Fred. I ended up just using the serger for the leg seams, I still don’t quite know how to hem with Sergio yet. A lot of people mentioned in reviews that this model bounces a lot when in use, however I actuallly thought the opposite. I have an old desk in my sewing room that has a glass top and on the bottom of Sergio there are suction cups that kept him firmly planted.

It finished seams like a dream! I am in love ❤

Check out the final product, here is my Dad in his light house/beach inspired pj pants:

And here is Chris’s dad Fred taking a nap in his dog bone pj pants:

Happy Father’s Day to the two best Dads!!

4 Comments on “Brother Sergio is here! Just in time for Father’s Day”

  1. lakaribane says:

    I have a Brother 1034D and I love it too! I chose it for the same main reason: it’s cheap! And it uses regular needles! I’m very happy with it.

    Next step: COVERSTITCH! Much more expensive but I’m just not gifted with the twin needles. (I need to save a little longer for this one but I’m sure it will be worth it.)

  2. Sophia says:

    Congratulations! I have the same serger and chose it for the same reasons you did. I don’t know what I ever did without it. Have fun!

  3. cjgal says:

    Thank you ladies! I really love it, I still need to work on my mastery but so far its been a piece of cake. I was sad to discover it doesn’t do a coverstitch, but for now it will work for the types of projects I make. I’d love to get some tips on how to hem, any advise you have is welcome!

  4. Pawan Yadav says:

    You can also read review on sergers at UseMyReviews as well.


Leave a Reply

