Vogue 8645, my giraffe print dress


I have had this really cute green giraffe print fabric that I bought super cheap for $4 a yard, but it is really sheer so I have been debating on what to do with it. I have seen good reviews on Vogue 8645 which is a fully lined dress with ties at the shoulders and a belt around the waist and figured it would be a good project!

Normally I avoid lining dresses if at all possible because for one, its such a pain in the ass. Second, I live in Louisville which has unbearably hot summers due to the city being nestled in the river valley, so any additional layers of clothing is one too many. However, since this fabric was so sheer I decided to suck it up and line the dress and wear this in the evening or to places inside. I found a light beige mesh from Joanns that matched the tan color in the giraffe print and used this for the lining.

This dress is one of those “very easy” Vogue editions, and they ain’t kidding- this dress was a cinch! It had no zippers, elastic, interfacing or nothing. It was just 4 panels, two front and two back pieces that were sewn together, ties, the belt and pockets. The pockets on the side were a breeze. I think pockets have become much easier to sew now that I have worked with them a lot. The lining was also extremely easy, it was pieced together the same as the dress, and sewn to the top with right sides together. The straps were sewn together afterwards. I love the ties on the straps, they give the dress some flare where it otherwise would have been a pretty plain dress. This dress absolutely needs the belt though, it looks like a potato sack otherwise. Depending on the fabric and pattern you use, a different waist belt would look cute with this dress too.

Personally I think this is a pretty dressy dress, especially with the added lining. (I do think that the lining could be omitted though with a thicker less sheer fabric, the arms would just need some bias tape for reinforcement.) It would be great for going to dinner, a play, or even a casual garden wedding would work. Its a great versatile piece and I would definitely sew it again.

4 Comments on “Vogue 8645, my giraffe print dress”

  1. Mary says:

    I’m just finishing this dress in a gray/taupe abstract print. I did not line mine and just turned under all raw edges and made narrow hems. Yours is super cute!

  2. youseef44 says:

    Hello Mary: I love this work and beautiful idea for a dress, it is well suited to you and worthy of you greatly, colors and beautiful light colors suit you very much, and design as well, especially in the chest and waist The hip is a hidden bit, and and a pocket on the waist makes you more elegant when you stand up. And the idea of ​​the sleeves is very beautiful wonderful. A stunning work of a great woman.

  3. Teri says:

    I love this fabric. Do you happen to remember where it was purchased?


Leave a Reply

