New Look 6051- Project runway workroom tunic.. eh


Simplicity has a Project Runway line (LOVE that show!) and they rolled out this tunic. I thought it looked so cute- maybe I just really like the blue floral satic fabric they showcased it in. I couldn’t find any fabric that resembled this, but I did find this pretty black and turquiose charmeuse- the last bit on the bolt!

The tunic was relatively simple to make, it was a big rectangle with a hole for your head- kind of like a poncho. The sides sewed up to make it more fitted. The neckline had casing around it which I always seem to struggle with, I just can’t ever get it to line up and not pucker. The tunic also had a drawstring, there are two buttonholes which I always have fun making. To make the casing for the drawstring they called for bias tape to be sewn on the inside with a channel left open to pull the drawstring through.

I think my tunic resembles the pattern photo, however I don’t know if I am really crazy about the look. My husband thought I had made a kimono, and not that there is anything wrong with kimonos but that wasn’t really what I was going for with this piece. It was fun to make though, and it was cool working with a satic which I haven’t used too much up to now.

7 Comments on “New Look 6051- Project runway workroom tunic.. eh”

  1. Beth says:

    I found your blog through patternreview.com. You make sewing look fun and hip! 🙂

    • cjgal says:

      Thank you Beth! Sewing IS fun and hip! I love it 😉 making your own fashion is much more satisfying (and cheaper) than buying them at the department stores

  2. Victoria says:

    Lovely dress! I think it looks great on you. I too just discovered your blog and look forward to keeping up with you:)

  3. ammree says:

    I am sewing this now and could not figure out how to put in the casing! I am glad I found your blog!

  4. Mina says:

    I chose the WRONG fabric for this project. It has made a simple pattern difficult to say the least. I am a beginner and I still don’t understand how the casing is to be sewn into place? I feel a little stupid for asking, but any advice would be greatly appreciated!


Leave a Reply

