Bok Bok BaGok! An Egg-stra special Mother’s Day apron


This year for Mother’s Day I wanted to make something special for my wonderful Mother in Law. She is a fantastic sewer and seamstress, and makes the most beautiful drapes and window treatments, and recently started doing her own upolstery completely self taught which is amazing! She is also a good cook and she wears fun aprons in the kitchen, my favorite one is her Mrs. Clause apron at Christmas time. I decided to make her a chicken themed apron, since I know she grew up around chickens and loves a good old eggs over easy in the morning! Here she is whipping up something tasty! 🙂

I used the Simplicity 2272 pattern, and it was a really quick sew. The edges were binded in double fold bias tape which I found in a light blue to match the chicken fabric. The rest of the apron was just fabric, no interfacing or lining needed. I did sew the waist band differently then they suggested in the instructions which seemed a bit backwards to me, they had the band sewed to the apron first, then folded in half right sides together, stitched and turned inside out. I don’t really see how that is possible with the apron sewed on, so I just pressed the tie edges in and sewed the whole piece together at once. No struggling!

I decided to add some egg yolk decals to the pockets, Chris was throwing away an old white button down work shirt so I fished it out of the trash and cut out some egg whites, and used remnants from my yellow dress fabric to make the yolks.

In the end it turned out really cute and versatile,  and I would definitely make this apron again!

Leave a Reply

