Bat wings?? No, its Mcalls “Laura Ashley” 6277


I have been eyeing this Mcalls pattern from the Laura Ashley line because the big drapey sleeves look so sleek in the drawn view (scoop neckline) on the pattern picture. After cutting the pieces and trying it on 20 times during the contruction, I felt like I could just take off and fly away with the gigantic bat wing sleeves for this dress! Needless to say I made quite a few alterations to this dress.

I found this bright fun printed rayon blend fabric that I wanted to use for this dress, and I decided to omit the lining for this dress all together. The material is pretty thick and not at all sheer, and it is very soft and drapey so it seemed unnecessary. Plus I’ll probably wear this in the summer and additional layers of fabric in the hot River valley summers = one sweaty gal! Not cute!

The contruction of the actual dress was very easy, it has three sections, a middle piece and the two sides. The problems came when I attached the sleeves and tried it on. The view for the V-neck dress had shorter sleeves and the view for this dress added about two extra inches on the length. I will go ahead and say that unless you have stretch armstrong arms these are way too big for the average woman and you should go ahead and cut the smaller ones. I couldn’t even get my belt around them, they got caught around my waist! I ended up spending way too much time hemming them shorter and sizing them down. The dress was also really long, I had to take it up about 2-3 inches as well. In the end I think my dress looks pretty cute, but it took way too long for something I thought would be a quick project piece.

6 Comments on “Bat wings?? No, its Mcalls “Laura Ashley” 6277”

  1. Just wanted to let you know we like your version of M6277 so much we posted a link to your blog from our McCall’s Patterns facebook page. Great job!

  2. Bonnie says:

    Cute dress! I saw it featured on Facebook.

  3. Sophia says:

    Oh jeez… I made this dress not too long ago and had several tantrums during the process (mostly because the fabric was terrible to sew, but also b/c of those crazy sleeves). Your version turned out beautifully though.. it was definitely worth the pain 🙂

  4. Sarah says:

    Since you used a knit, were you able to omit the zipper that the pattern calls for? I’m getting ready to make a version of this myself and wondered if the zipper was really necessary with a knit fabric. Thanks!

    • cjgal says:

      Hi Sarah- yes definitely omit the zipper, I forgot to mention this in my post. Anytime I use knit fabric I avoid using zippers, like you said the knits have enough stretch that they are not needed. Secondly I have found that knits and zippers don’t work out too well, the zipper always ends up puckered and contorted. I think this is another reason why I favor knits so much, they are comfy, you can omit items like zippers and button holes which can be challenging (and annoying when you don’t get them just the way you want), and they are forgiving. Good luck with your dress, I’d love to see the finished product!


Leave a Reply

