Funky & Fun House Warming Wreath


My two friends Jo and Dave (who I mentioned in a previous post) are moving back home to Louisville, and are schedule to close on their amazing new house next month! I am so excited for them to move back and they will be really close to Chris and I so we can hang out. I wanted to make them a fun house warming gift, and I was inspired by my friend Andrea’s awesome talent for making door wreaths. They are not your everyday Hobby Lobby style wreath, she makes them all by hand and adds fun accessories and themes to each one so that they are unique to the person who owns the door in which they hang 🙂 Check out her designs on her Etsy site at http://www.etsy.com/people/WishWreaths.

The best part about her shop is that she donates 10% of the price of each wreath to the Make a Wish Foundation, which is so awesome! Here is a Derby inspired wreath she made that I think is absolutely adorable, how stinkin cute is this?? She is so creative!

Although I don’t have as much experience making wreaths I thought I would try my hand at it, it looks like so much fun! I have a big jar full of different colored buttons so I thought I would use them as the theme for Jo and Dave’s wreath. Jo is an incredible sewer and I thought that buttons would be appropriate. Since the buttons are so bright I picked out some thick navy blue yarn that would make them stand out. I started with a foam wreath ring from the craft store and used quilting batting cut in strips to wrap around the foam to bulk it up bit. This also made it easier to wrap the yarn around too.

After I fully wrapped the wreath with yarn I busted out the old glue gun! I found some wooden letters, painted them orange and used them to add their future newly wed’s last name. While I waited for these to dry, I started gluing on the buttons, I just picked colors at random, gluing some together stacking them and leaving some loose.

When the letters dried I glued those bad boys on too.

And that was it! Very very easy, and minimal glue gun burns. I pat myself on the back. Here is the finished product:

I hope that they like it! I also made one for my house too, Chris and I have a deep love for owls as we even had an owl theme to our wedding. I made the little owls out of felt as well as the orange and green flowers.

 

Not your everyday run of the mill Grandma wreath ay?

One Comment on “Funky & Fun House Warming Wreath”

  1. jo says:

    OH MY GOD! We LOVE it!!! It’s so much fun! It will look perfect at our house…..THANK YOU!!


Leave a Reply

