Hello creative friends!


Hello all! Welcome to my first ever creativity blog! I really excited to begin sharing all my sewing projects and crafty designs and projects with you. I was married to the love of my life last November, and I received a new Singer Sewing machine as a wedding gift from my wonderful Italian Aunt Ida from New York who highly encourages domestic skills and old school traditions. Although it is a pretty standard machine, (no fancy schmancy computerized screens or buttons), I have been able to make some pretty impressive and diverse items if I do say so myself!

This was one of my first projects, it is a long drapey vest that I made from a soft rayon blend material, it is a pretty plum color that I found at Joann’s Fabrics (with a coupon of course). It was a pretty easy sew, I used the Simplicity pattern #2283 although it is funny how seemingly easy directions can stump you! I was on a roll until the point where the neck band attached to the back of the vest. I read it over and over for an hour and looked at the black and white illustrations and just couldn’t comprehend how to roll it a certain way and match the notches (that I forgot to mark- go figure). I had to just step away and finish it the next day when it finally clicked. I opted out on hemming the garment as the material is very flowy and thin and it just didn’t look right to me with a hem.

I think it turned out pretty cute! Great for hanging out on the weekends with my buddies or going to grab a casual drink.

One Comment on “Hello creative friends!”

  1. Jo says:

    Awesome post! I can’t wait to see more!


Leave a Reply

