The Parisian Lonsdale


This weekend I decided that I couldn’t wait any longer and I had to make up a dress with my new fabric from Paris. I decided that the purple/white geometric cotton fabric would work well with the Sewaholic Lonsdale dress so I went nuts and started cutting. This pattern looks like it would be complicated with all the ties and halter action with loops in the back and whatnot but I found this to be a pretty straight forward dress to assemble. The directions on the pattern were great, more so the picture diagrams. I barely read any of the directions because the pictures explained it all, well done Ms. Tasia!

DSC_0072

 

DSC_0073

 

I m pleased with the fit overall, however there is a good bit of gaping in the bodice area. I definitely will need to go back and tweak it a bit. Sucks having to go back at this point and put in a dart or possible just pinch it in a little but it is what it is. I think it could possibly be from having a fuller bust and these patterns are adapted to pear shapes, or I may have just cut the bodice a size too big, or maybe both? Lesson learned for my next one though.

DSC_0098

 

Somehow when I was cutting I missed the little rectangle pieces for the loops so I created my own, I think they may be a tad long but they are functional and not too shallow so they work. Chris tied my bow for me, isn’t he sweet?

DSC_0080

 

DSC_0082

 

I really love the skirt on the dress, the pocket are super cute, and I love how it flares. I think it could be cute as a skirt in its own right.

21 Comments on “The Parisian Lonsdale”

  1. dressesandme says:

    I love the fabric you chose! Where in Paris did you buy this? and the dress looks great on you! very summer-y indeed!

  2. Helen says:

    Love your dress. It looks so nice on you.

  3. sewbusylizzy says:

    I love this dress, so feminine. I found the bodice gaped a bit at the back & I put some little darts in, you can’t really see them under the tie.
    I think the skirt on this is very similar to the Hollyburn skirt.

    • cjgal says:

      Thank you! Yeah I think the darts will have to happen, I know the gaping is going to drive me nuts! I guess I don’t need to bother purchasing the hollyburn pattern, I can just make some lonsdale skirts ;) two in one!

  4. Helena says:

    Love the fabric! I agree that the skirt shape is great and as someone mentioned above, it is the same as the Hollyburn.The bodice could use a little tweaking, it’s always annoying to realise those things after all finishings are made (I still have a few projects waiting on this).

    • cjgal says:

      Thanks! Yeah I think I’ve got a few also still waiting as well. You get finished and then you’re ready to mve on to the next endeavor!

  5. Lovely print and the cute style really suits you! I’m sure you’ll be able to tweak the fit but I think you may need to enter the joyous fba club if you make another ;-)

    • cjgal says:

      Thanks! I have been looking at fba’s online and I have found some pretty good tutorials and tips. I think the next one will definitely need one for sure!

  6. Amanda says:

    This fabric is so super summery and cute! This dress deserves a picnic, methinks! :D

  7. Jenny says:

    Cute cute dress – love the fabric.
    I just made Simplicity 1688 and I had the same gaping problem – a couple of darts should fix the problem. Do you plan on making the dress again? If so, you may want to adjust the pattern to remove the gaping on the side – I think bust darts would help. I hope you don’t mind the unsolicited advice – I know I go nuts when I have gaping and I searched the ‘net for a long time to help me fix the problem. I want to blog about the adjustment but I still don’t have a decent camera – I’m hoping to have one soon!

    • cjgal says:

      Thanks! I think that darts would definitely help, I was a little hopeful that it would magically fix itself but no such luck. Thanks for the advice, helpful tips are always welcome!

  8. CGCouture says:

    Oh I hate fixing things after they’re done, but I never seem to wear them if I don’t, and this dress deserves to be worn! :-) It’s going to be super flattering once you fix that gaping, and perfect for summer! :-)

  9. Katherine says:

    I love that fabric!! that dress is fantastic!

  10. Gjeometry says:

    This dress is so cute!! Yes, Sewaholic patterns are supposed to be aimed at the pear shaped woman. I wonder if you can just put in some side darts to cinch up the bodice a bit? The fabric is SO pretty!

  11. Pella says:

    Love the neckline twist, and the skirt has a nice flare too.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 182 other followers