Cynthia Rowley 2512- weekend skirt


This is a skirt I made before my trip but I am just now getting around to blogging it. Traveling gets in the way of a lot of things, not that I am complaining! After I saw the version of this skirt made my Mimi G, blogged here, I pretty much had no choice but to shamelessly copy and make one myself. I used a cotton twill with a turquoise chevrony- zig zaggy print. I really like his material because its nice and soft but it still has substance and shape to it. No need to line it either which is a plus in this heat!

 

DSC_0017

 

DSC_0010

 

 

DSC_0024

 

This is in front of our newly bloomed crape myrtle tree in the front yard, I thought it looked pretty!

Anyhow, back to the skirt. I made a couple changes to it based off the other reviews I read. I added extra length onto the ties because everyone had said it was too short to tie into a bow. This worked out just fine, but now I am kind of on the fence about the bow, I think it may be a little too fussy for me. I may just end up wearing it in a knot. I also omitted the pockets because I didn’t want to add any extra bulk, it already has a lot going on. I took away some of the gathers especially in the back since a lot of the reviewers noted that it looked like they had a bubble butt. I don’t need to add anymore junk to my trunk!

DSC_0011

 

Unfortunately I think the front and back are a little unbalanced, I even ended up having to take the hem up in the front because it was hanging lower than the back. The ties pull a bit at the zipper in the back but its nothing that will cause any wardrobe malfunctions… I hope.

DSC_0028

 

DSC_0030

 

All in all I think its a cute skirt and is comfy for running around on the weekends, like this lovely one! Happy Saturday!

22 Comments on “Cynthia Rowley 2512- weekend skirt”

  1. what a great color for summer–love it. And I like the bow; don’t know if i’d wear it (it does seem big), but it looks awesome in the photos.

  2. Reblogged this on Amanda's Words / starfire8me and commented:
    THAT IS SO NICE!!

  3. sewbusylizzy says:

    Love this colour, it’s so fresh & summery. I saw Mimi G’s version too and am tempted. It’s a lovely casual skirt.

  4. super cute, what fantastic fabric, I thought the back was a bit “bubble” also but you solved it.

  5. Michelle says:

    This is super pretty! I love the colors and the chevrons….I have been contemplating making this pattern.

  6. CGCouture says:

    This pattern is so nice I bought it twice, LOL. Well, OK, actually I just have it in both sizes since I picked the too small one first–I too have a bit of junk in the trunk…

    Anyway, CUTE!! I love this fabric, I would have thought there would be too much “going on” for a print, but the zig-zags are kind of subtle and perfect for this. Good eye! :-)

  7. gingermakes says:

    This is really cute! It looks so nice on you!

  8. strugglesome says:

    Oh, I love this, the print is divine.

  9. Amanda says:

    Yet another fabulous piece! I think I may have to start making homages to your pieces soon because I’m loving them all :D This chevron print is so summery and fun!

  10. Rushell says:

    Hello!

    This blog post was featured on Simplicity’s Facebook page. I will include the link to the page so you can have a look. Please invite your followers to see your post on our page. I hope you continue doing wonderful work and include simplicity into your designs.

    http://www.facebook.com/simplicitypatterns#!/simplicitypatterns


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 186 other followers