Zig zags and paint


Last night I attended my friend Tina’s surprise birthday/painting party, and it was a total blast! She loves dressing up so everyone was to show up in cocktail attire for the occasion. This of course made me excited because I just finished my chevron “zig zag” dress, and I was itching for a reason to wear it. I found this retro inspired polyester material at our local Hancocks and I couldn’t leave the store without it, even though I generally avoid working with this type of fabric. I decided to make McCalls 6115 which is about as an easy of a dress to make especially with this finicky fabric. Its pretty much two panels with a channel to run the straps through. I did my darndest to match up the stripes, however this dress is a pretty big sack when its all said and done so I had to take it in quite a bit. Matching up the stripes became less of a necessity and more of an impossibility. I ended up belting the dress anyhow so I don’t mind it too much.

DSC_0323

DSC_0322

I really love how it turned out, I think this dress may be coming with me on my trip to Europe. Bonjour!

DSC_0314

While at the party, we all had to cover our sophisticated outfits with aprons to avoid getting splattered with paint. It was well worth covering my dress, I forgot how much I enjoy painting. I used to do quite a bit of oil painting, but when I started school a couple years ago I just didn’t have the time for it anymore. It can be a very time consuming hobby! However, now that I will have the summer off and I finished graduate school I plan to get in at least a little painting time! The theme for the painting party was the Louisville skyline with bubbles floating about in the sky. I decided to deviate my theme because I wanted to hang it in my sewing room, so instead of bubbles I painted spools of thread.

get-attachment-1.aspx

DSC_0315

It turned out kind of meh, we had to finish within a limited time frame as it was a painting party and it ended up a little sloppy and kindergartenish as a result. I may go back and try to fix it up later on, although this was done with acrylic paint. Here are all the other painters’ finished masterpieces, they all turned out great and we had so much fun!

425198_513958952011023_1026101390_n

I really enjoy painting natural scenery and using a lot of texture when I paint. Here are a couple of paintings I have done that are hanging up in my house:

get-attachment-2.aspxget-attachment.aspx

All this art is really getting my creative juices flowing, I’m really getting excited to start creating this summer! Oh and on a completely unrelated side note, check out who I met at a local art fair recently- Gunnar from project runway! He was so friendly and kind, he didn’t even mind me asking for a creeper fan pic ;)

get-attachment-1.aspx

Love local celebrities!

16 Comments on “Zig zags and paint”

  1. Gjeometry says:

    Very pretty dress and what a fun party! A painting party, I want to attend one now. The artwork looks just lovely, as well.

    • cjgal says:

      Thanks! Painting parties seem to be the new trend, I think it’d be fun to just get together with some girls and just paint whatever we want without an instructor. Maybe that’ll be my next get together!

  2. Sew OCD says:

    I really like your painting with the tree. The background colors are quite fantastic!

    • cjgal says:

      Thank you! I actually used a photo of a huge oak tree I took in savannah ga, it would have had the signature hanging moss of those trees but I like the eerie look of it being bare.

  3. Kelly says:

    Such a cute version. I’ve made this once before and have it out to make this weekend. Love your painting.

    • cjgal says:

      I totally read your review on this dress before I made it, I love your long black version! It looked so good on you, solid black works really well for this dress. I may have to steal your look ;)

  4. Amanda says:

    Celebrity spotting win!
    I love the zig zag frock with the black belt and wedges- it is all kinds of awesome. A definite European vacay dress!

    • cjgal says:

      Thanks! My husband is generally picky about the dresses I make but he gave this one the euro seal of approval too, it’s going down!

  5. Cynthia says:

    The dress is sew cute and the painting of the bare tree is gorgeous! Good job

  6. I LOVE that dress! Great job!!

  7. Katherine Rhodes says:

    That fabric is gorgeous! You are so good at picking fabric. I love how the dress turned out, can’t wait to see the next one.

  8. gingermakes says:

    Ahahaha! Gunnar! That’s awesome! But back to the dress– I love it! I can see why you had to have that fabric– it’s an amazing print!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 185 other followers