Blue eyelet Laurel


As soon as I finished my first Laurel  I knew that I wanted to try my next one in an eyelet fabric. I have never used eyelet fabric before and this dress is so simple and perfect for it. No way to screw it up! I had this vision of bright turquoise eyelet material and I finally found this, the las on the bolt in just enough to make this dress. It was fate!

DSC_0335

Now there really isn’t much to say about this dress, it is very plain and simple but that is what I was going for with this one. I plan to wear it to work (last 7 days of school count down has begun!) with just a jean jacket thrown over and some flats. The less fussy my wardrobe is the better, I am dealing with 6th graders! I wanted it to fit more like a tank dress, so I didn’t add the sleeves… although they would’ve been really cute, maybe later on eyelet Laurel 2.0. I also lowered the neckline on this one.

DSC_0336

DSC_0337

The blue fabric that I lined the dress with is slightly lighter than the blue in  the eyelet fabric but I like how it highlights the pattern. I have some Marc Jacobs plum floral eyelet from Mood which I think is calling Laurel’s name. It may or may not be too grandma though. But grandma is totally in right now, right??

19 Comments on “Blue eyelet Laurel”

  1. Cynthia says:

    Super cute! You look gorgeous in that color

  2. gingermakes says:

    Adorable! I love this on you– it’s such a great color!

  3. Helena says:

    Such a pretty dress, I love eyelets!

  4. sewbusylizzy says:

    Grandma is always in. I have a pair of blank patent shoes I refer to as my Glamourma’ shoes.
    Love this. I picked up three meters of embroidered black eyelet (complete with scallop border) for $3 at a thrift shop yesterday. Laurel is looking like a good option…

  5. Amanda says:

    That fabric is absolutely divine! I’m loving the blue with the pop of orange!!! That is a teaching outfit set to RAD! Hang in there- summer holidays aren’t far away!

  6. CGCouture says:

    Such a pretty shade of blue! Very nice! :-) I sure hope “grandma” is in, because I’m getting ready to make up a tee using a bit of a grandma-esque fabric. :-P And I have no idea how you can teach 6th graders–you are such a brave soul!! ;-)

    • cjgal says:

      Thanks! I think grandma chic is totally the look now, I see so many granny florals that are so fabulous. I think our grandmas were onto something!

  7. Katherine says:

    Love this dress!!! The color and fabric are fantastic.

  8. Gjeometry says:

    Very cute! How did you find sewing with the eyelet lace? Was it difficult to pass through the machine without it getting stuck all the time?

  9. Very nice, lovely colour and I like how you have styled this with the coral, chic!

  10. kokorimbaud says:

    This pattern is such a great one to show off the pretty eyelet fabric – and I love the way the lighter blue adds a bit of pop.


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 180 other followers