Vogue 8870


I found this pattern while perusing a local Vogue pattern sale, and I loved view B with the spaghetti straps minus the mullet hem. I don’t know what it is but I just hate the high low hem trend right now, especially on dresses. I had bought this slippery polyestery type fabric in the clearance bin for super cheap so I decided to try it out for this dress. It turned out ok, but with the elastic waist I think the top ended up a little blousy. I took it in a bit but ultimately that is the style of the dress.

DSC_0320

 

I think my dress is pretty dead on except I definitely evened my hem out. IMO, the only way these mullet dresses can work is if your fabric is printed the same on both sides, and other than some home spun fabric and plaids in my stash there is nothing that would fit the bill. Even in the hand drawn picture her fabric doesn’t look like a double print, wtf? It looks tacky. (If you love these mullet dresses I apologize for my rant, we are all entitled to an opinion)

V8870

 

The dress was easy enough to make, however the double straps were a little tricky. I get irritated easily if my straps keep falling down and with these I had 4 times the likeliness of dealing with fallen straps. I ended up discreetly attaching them together to keep the look of a double strap without the annoyance. I think I would also take off an inch of length to the bodice to eliminate some of the billowing.

DSC_0319

 

DSC_0322

 

Although the suggested fabrics for this dress are Voile, Georgette, Crepe de Chine, and Faille, I think it could work with the weight of a knit.  I may try this in the near future… we shall see.

DSC_0315

20 Comments on “Vogue 8870”

  1. Helena says:

    Great summer dress! I think mullet hem can look good, but in some time they will be very dated. Plus, as you say, you need a fabric that looks good on both sides.

  2. sewmanju says:

    Looks cute! Yep I haven’t done a mullet hem yet. By the time I get round to it they will probably be totally out!

    • cjgal says:

      Thanks! I think that even if I made one that looked great I wouldn’t end up wearing it. I’m trying to stick with items I know will get some usage!

  3. Meredith says:

    Your dress looks great! I like the blousy look on the bodice. I agree with you about the high low hems, though. I like them on tops, but on dresses, it just looks too distracting.

    • cjgal says:

      Thanks lady! Yes I totally agree, I’ve actually seen some pretty cute high low tops (as long as they aren’t too exaggerated). Dresses just get too fussy!

  4. Sew OCD says:

    I absolutely HATE the mullet hem too. I think they’re dated and tacky, so I love that you evened out the hem. It makes this dress more wearable and much nicer looking (hate seeing the inside of the fabric, makes the dresses look cheap!). Good job!

    • cjgal says:

      Thank you! Lets hope the mullet hem has seen its last season, there seems to be way more peeps on team “no mullets!” than for them.

  5. It’s funny – I can’t stand the mullet hem on skirts or dresses but I’m in the process of making a tunic with one right now! I guess covering my rear in skinny jeans is more important to me! Love the dress – I’m always looking for easy summer dresses. Will ahve to add it to my list.

    • cjgal says:

      Haha thanks! I have seen some nice mullet hem shirts, I think the look is pulled off better with pants underneath. You should definitely try this one, elastic waist = comfy and easy

  6. Sassy T says:

    Am with you am not a mullet hem lover lol

  7. Gjeometry says:

    Very pretty summery looking dress! I am not a fan of the mullet hems either. Although did see one done today in a tank top that was quite a long length. For some reason, the longer length and the fact that it was not a dress, made it look really good!

    • cjgal says:

      Thanks! There are definitely exceptions to the mullet hem. Maybe calling it a “mullet” hem makes it sound even less attractive

  8. CGCouture says:

    Cute dress! I don’t think it looks too blousy in the front, just the back. Are you a candidate for an FBA? And yeah, I’m not a fan of the mullet hem either.

    • cjgal says:

      Yes definitely a little billowy in the back. I think that I may need an FBA, that is something I plan to invest a bit more time in the summer :)

  9. Katherine says:

    The dress looks great, I am glad I ordered the pattern. Hope mine is turns out as nicely as yours. I think if you are going to mullet a dress, it needs to be lined with the same or complementary fabric.

  10. Erin says:

    Wow such a pretty dress and I love the print. Looks gorgeous on you :)


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 182 other followers