This is for the birds!


I just finished making this dress, Simplicity 1878. It was a pattern that I picked up in a $0.99 sale, and I just now decided to try it out. It is a simple shift dress style, but has an open neck style. I made this with this Michael Miller bird print, it seemed cute and whimsical to me at first, but now I’m thinking it may be a little juvenile. Oh well, it will be an easy running around town dress… no judgement at the grocery store!

DSC_0317

 

DSC_0329

 

This was a very easy dress to put together. I like that the style is straight up and down so it is easy to throw on and wear. I opted to omit the interfacing around the neckline, because good Lord I hate interfacing… However, if I make this again I do think it needs it, the neck is open but it really needs a bit of stability to stand up. Mine kind of flops over a bit, boooo.

DSC_0323

 

DSC_0316

 

Overall not a bad pattern, I would make this again with some minor changes. It kind of has a bit of a 70’s feel, like something Twiggy would wear.

21 Comments on “This is for the birds!”

  1. sewbusylizzy says:

    Oh I like the fabric, I think it’s great!

  2. danvillegirl says:

    Cute dress. And I love your shoes!

  3. Michelle says:

    I think it’s very cute! I need to make a few simple pullover dresses for summer from some linen in my stash so I may have to check out this pattern

    • cjgal says:

      Oh I am totally in the same page, linen is big on my planning list. One of my next projects is mccalls 6739, super easy to wear and it looks perfect for a nice sturdy linen.

  4. CGCouture says:

    Super cute dress! :-) It would change the look a bit, but what about putting some pretty pearl snaps to hold those little corner pieces down, sort of like what’s on the Colette Rooibos (I think?) or is the back of that fabric not very pretty?

    • cjgal says:

      Oh that sounds like it would work, I actually put the facings on this (no way around it really) so the opposite side doesn’t look obscene. Thanks!

  5. Vicki Kate says:

    I really like it, the lemon and grey of the print is gorgeous!

  6. prttynpnk says:

    I think this whimsical print really suits the Retro shape. Adorable!

  7. Oh the fabric is so lovely! Loving the lemon and grey :)

  8. gingermakes says:

    Oooh, this is so cute! I love this shape on you!

  9. Taracat says:

    I really like this! Not juvenile at all, that fabric is great and that style really suits you. Love it!

  10. Hey Christy! I love your blog, so I’ve nominated you for a Liebster Award. :) Should you choose to accept it, you can find more info here: http://sometimessewist.wordpress.com/2013/05/13/ich-3-liebster/


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 185 other followers