One last flannel before the Spring


We recently went on an awesome weekend cabin trip with about 12 of our awesome friends, and I wanted to make Chris something comfy and “campy” so I made him another Negroni shirt. I love how the first one turned out, so I decided to make this one in flannel since it is still pretty cold out. Well turns out that weekend ended up being sunny and gorgeous, perfect for our 5 mile hike through the Red River Gorge. Unfortunately, this also meant that it was too warm for him to wear his flannel shirt the entire time, so I only got this one good picture of it during the hike.

DSC_0224

It was such a fun time, and it was great to get out of the city and enjoy the great outdoors (while sleeping in a cozy cabin). Here are a few other highlights from the trip:

DSC_0232

DSC_0240

DSC_0264

DSC_0283

DSC_0285

DSC_0311

DSC_0225

Here’s to the last flannel before Spring! I plan for my next posts to be full of spring dresses and light weight warm weather wear. Looking forward to the new season!

21 Comments on “One last flannel before the Spring”

  1. Wow, looks fun! The rock formations are spectacular. And that negroni looks perfect on your man–way to go!

  2. Sassy T says:

    Ooo I so need a break. Great shirt.

  3. Cynthia says:

    Firstly, the Negroni looks fab. Secondly, I miss the Red soooooooooooooo bad, thanks for the photos. I’m from Cincinnati and the mister and I used to rock climb there every weekend (except for winter) and eat an absurd amount of Miguel’s pizza :)

  4. Gjeometry says:

    That flannel shirt looks great! And, wow what a fantastic time it looks like you had camping. Such great crevasses to hike in! I’m having a giveaway on my blog to celebrate the first day of spring! Only here it is still snowing!!!! So, could have used that flannel shirt! Lol. Feel free to drop by and enter if you like.

    • cjgal says:

      Thank you! It was a fluke, the weather has even up and down since. I’m hoping that spring break will summon the sun. Thanks a bunch, I’ll be sure to check it out!

  5. Nice job on the shirt, and looks like an awesome time! I can’t wait until it’s too warm here to wear a flannel shirt…I miss being comfortably outside! Our high was 20 degrees on the first day of Spring and has barely warmed since (it’s usually in the 40s this time of year).

    • cjgal says:

      Thank you! I hate the ansy winter blues that come about this time of year. But I guess the extra cold gives us a reason to stay in and sew for the anticipated warmer days :)

  6. CGCouture says:

    Lookin’ good! I’m jealous that your weather has warmed up enough to go hiking, it’s still pretty cold here, so we haven’t gotten to do anything like that yet this year.

  7. Awesome job on the shirt and what a wonderful time you must have had hiking.
    We’re just coming out of snowshoe season and hiking now requires ice cleats. Thanks for sharing both your sewing and your hiking, two of my favorite activities.

    Christiana
    sewamusing.blogspot.com

  8. gingermakes says:

    The shirt looks amazing! I love the flannel you chose! And what gorgeous scenery– I’m jealous! My dude isn’t outdoorsy (except for winter sports), so I can’t get him out of the house in the spring and summer! :)

    • cjgal says:

      Thanks! He sure likes it, he has worn it and washed it several times since the trip. Ugh winter sports, I’m not into the whole bundling up and yet still freezing while sliding down a snow bank and busting your face. Give me warm weather fun any day!

  9. Amanda says:

    What a fab make- perfect for such a great trip! It looks like you had a blast- how rad are those rocks?! And also great choice in plaid!

  10. Megan says:

    I went to school in central Tennessee and these photos make me SO nostalgic! Sometimes (most of the the time) I really miss the southeast. The shirt looks great and I’m sure your hubby will get lots of use out of it next fall!

  11. sewmanju says:

    That negroni looks fab, and your hike pictures look awesome as well!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 185 other followers