The Elephant Dress


I found this kitschy elephant print knit and of course I had to add it to my wardrobe. The elephants are pretty big, bout 4 or 5 inches tall, so I wanted to just do something simple to show them off. I decided to go with Lisette 2059, which is probably one of the quickest and easiest dresses to make and it cinches with a self belt so it looks good no matter what! It is literally two panels, neck and arm binding ad the belt. Done! and done!

DSC_0184

The knit is really heavy so it worked out well for a winter knit dress, kind of an oxymoron right? I wore this out with my girlfriends to dinner and got mucho compliments!

DSC_0185

I love the elephants, kind of abstract/bohemian and literal all at the same time… or something like that! Either way super cute

DSC_0194

DSC_0189

Speaking of Liestte, has anyone seen the newest pattern? How cute is that peplum dress? and the full retro style dress… in love! ¬†Yes I know its part of the big 4 but I like what I like, ya feel me?

23 Comments on “The Elephant Dress”

  1. You are on a ROLL, mama!! What a fab and fun print, and a quick and easy dress is always welcome in my world.
    And there’s nothing wrong with the big 4 as far as I’m concerned. I just hit a .99 Butterick sale hard today, and ordered some cute New Looks from Pattern Review. Can’t wait to play with them.
    That new Lisette with the peplum is way cute. I’m afraid to keep looking at their site. Too much adorableness.
    Lovin the elephants!

    • cjgal says:

      Thanks! I have been trying to get in more sewing lately since I am finally finding my groove at school. Those $0.99 sales are the devil I tell you! I find myself buying patterns that I think are meh just because they are so dang cheap. I think Vogue needs to take a page out of the McCalls Butterick book and have a 0.99 sale every once in a while!

  2. gingermakes says:

    Adorable! I love those elephants! And that Lisette pattern is way cute! I don’t love big 4 patterns as fitted styles usually take tons of alterations to fit me right, but they have some cute designs and they’re cheap if you can catch a sale!

  3. sewbusylizzy says:

    Love that print! I’ve got no problem with the Big 4, it is hard to get them for a decent price in Australia. The cheapest I would get a Lisette pattern in store is $9 at a 50% off sale. The indies are often the same price or even cheaper than the Big 4 – hence I buy most of my patterns direct from BMV online. I rarely buy Simplicity as their online sales are not as good :-(

    • cjgal says:

      Oh wow, that’s way too expensive for commercial patterns! That’s supposed to be the deal with the big companies- you get to buy them dirt cheap. Oh well, I think the indie patterns are usually way cuter anyhow.

  4. That is so cute! I love your fabric; it’s such a fun dress

  5. CGCouture says:

    Cute! I love the fabric! I don’t know, everyone (including me!) curses the “big 4″, but honestly, they’ve obviously still got something going for them or they wouldn’t still be in business.

    • cjgal says:

      Thanks! Yes I agree, and while I hate to be a “supporter” its just so convenient to buy their patterns at the local craft stores. No shipping, you can usually find something similar to the independent patterns… I know. Bad sewer! bad! bad!

  6. Megan says:

    This is SO ADORABLE that I can hardly stand it. I’ve had my eye on some lisette patterns for a while now, might be time to take the plunge!

    • cjgal says:

      Yes you should totally do it! I find myself returning to these Lisette patterns over and over again over all my others. They are just simple, easy and versatile.

  7. You did a great job on this dress! The elephants are perfect :)

  8. Laeh J says:

    My goodness that’s fantastic! Where did you find that fabric?

  9. This dress is adorable! I love it!

  10. Marsha V. says:

    Have the same fabric in my stash waiting for the perfect dress pattern! Yours is adorable! I bought 1/2 yard of coordinating pink print for trim. Going to get cracking on mine!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 181 other followers