Colette Truffle


I finally got around to making my Truffle dress. I found this bluish/purple linen fabric (though it mostly looks purple in the pictures) and I was sold. Yes I know it is February and way to cold for linen but after seeing Cynthia’s Truffle in linen, blogged here, I loved how structured the fabric made the ruffle and the skirt. I think more flowy fabric makes the dress look a little flimsy. I probably won’t wear this until April for an event anyhow, so no biggie.

DSC_0154

I love how it turned out! Since the dress is relatively simple and in a solid color it is the perfect canvas for jewelry. I hardly ever wear this necklace because its got so much going on, but I think its just what this dress needs.

DSC_0179

I pretty much followed the instruction and made this dress quickly, there’s really not a whole lot to it. The top has easy lines and darts, the skirt pieces were quick and easy, and the ruffle was really a no briner. If the dress didn’t have the ruffle I think it’d be kind of boring. The only change I made was omitting the lining and just using bias tape around the neckline and armholes. It gets really hot here in the warmer months so I try to avoid lining at all costs, extra fabric = extra sweat!

DSC_0178

DSC_0180

DSC_0181

I highly recommend this dress if the big ruffle is your sort of thing. That means you have to buy the Colette Sewing handbook, but with all the awesome tips and additional patterns it is well worth the cost!

30 Comments on “Colette Truffle”

  1. Amanda says:

    This looks smashing on you! You’ve chosen a fantastic fabric to really get the drape on the ruffle right. It’s great to here that the construction was nice and easy and the fit was no dramas. Well done!

  2. sewmanju says:

    That looks so cute! I will have to try it. Very classy.

  3. Almond Rock says:

    This turned out great!! Love the colour. After my failed truffle at xmas I need a break before I try again

  4. ooh Nice! I like your version way better than the inspiration-the fit is so much better on you (and yours is wrinkle free which in linen, more than any other fabric, is an effin’ accomplishment). Sweet necklace as well. Good on ya lady, keep rockin’.

  5. alisonesther says:

    This dress is adorable!

  6. gingermakes says:

    So cute! I love this on you! And the necklace is way cool!

  7. Such a great color! I have yet to make anything out of this book. This dress makes me want to get on it!

  8. CGCouture says:

    This turned out too cute! I love the color (at least the purple-y color I see on my screen), and the design. I’m on the fence about buying the book though….

  9. sewbusylizzy says:

    I love the fabric choice, it looks v.classy.

  10. dressesandme says:

    Wow! You look stunning – the colour and the style are great on you! I’m really looking forward to makin this pattern you made it sounds so easy!

  11. Helena says:

    It looks great and I like that it looks like it was built around the necklace.

    • cjgal says:

      Thanks! You would think so ut I didn’t even realize how well they went together until I finished it. I think they will be spending a lot of time together in the future :)

  12. Gaby says:

    Nice! There’s something so lovely about that flowy asymmetrical peplum :)

  13. Cennetta says:

    Great looking dress.

  14. Very cute!! Great color on you. Now I’m going to have to crack open that Colette book. Just need the perfect fabric, like you found, and you said the magic words, “looks good on every figure.” :) Thanks for the link to Cynthia’s blog. Hers is gorgeous too.

    • cjgal says:

      Thanks! That’s usually how my projects work, I find fabric and then the project beckons for it. I love Cynthia’s blog, she makes such gorgeous pieces, its one of my favs!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 185 other followers