The Aztec dress


This week we have had unusually warm weather for January, yesterday was a high of 70. I know this will be short lived and I am way jumping the gun, but it has me giddy for spring and new fun dresses! I found this amazing tribal/Aztec knit on Etsy and I found myself envisioning it made up in Simplicity  2443. This has a simple silhouette with a gathered skirt and a racer back.

DSC_0129

I’ve made this dress once before in a peacock print blogged here, and I totally forgot what a pain it was to attach the bodice to the straps. I used a solid black knit that I had in my stash to add some contrast to the straps, I had hoped I would be able to leave off the interfacing however this knit was super flimsy so there was no way around it. I think the interfacing made the straps fit a little strange, and I about lost my cool trying to get the racer back sewn in nice and even. I ended up just top stitching it on and it still is lopsided and less than great… grrrrr… I may go back and try to fix it before I wear this in warmer weather, but for now I plan to wear a sweater over the dress so I am going to give it a rest for now.

DSC_0132

 

DSC_0138

 

Other than the back I love ow it turned out, I am totally digging the tribal print trend right now. Its bright and fun, and this dress is super comfy. I can’t wait until spring gets here! Here’s hoping that ground hog doesn’t see his shadow in a month.

DSC_0141

 

DSC_0134

27 Comments on “The Aztec dress”

  1. Amanda says:

    Ohh! That fabric is fab and I love the solid colour straps- such a great feature. I say roll with the cardi for the back and fix it up later on. :)

  2. gingermakes says:

    This is SO cute! I love it!

  3. prttynpnk says:

    Its lovely- you always pick the pattern and prints that work best together. Hey, I thought about you this week- I saw a sweater for a molting chicken on etsy!

  4. This dress is super cute! Great print!

  5. Almond Rock says:

    This is super cute. What great fabric! I have this pattern but haven’t tried it yet.

  6. m says:

    beautiful print!

  7. sewbusylizzy says:

    Wicked fabric! Looks great

  8. You are so darn cute. Perfect pattern/fabric combination! And you know I love those shiny pumps!!

    • cjgal says:

      Haha oh stop… No go on! Hee Hee jk. I’m looking forward to your next creation, I feel like we make the same items at the same time. I guess we have good taste ;)

  9. Vicki Kate says:

    Wow, that’s gorgeous! I’d be intimidated by the racer back so well done you for tackling them!

    • cjgal says:

      Thank you! I’m more intimidated by it now that it’s finished and I know I have got to get my seam ripper out! Oh well, name of the sewing game

  10. CGCouture says:

    Looks awesome! I agree with Amanda, wear a cardi now, and later you can fix it…or not, maybe you’ll have forgotten by then and your hair will cover it anyway. :-)

  11. The colors and print are so gorgeous! What a great dress.

  12. Katie Elliott says:

    Hi there! Loving your blog, my name is Katie Elliott I am the creator of Tag a Trend.co.uk (www.tagatrend.co.uk) The website works like this: each week I announce a new fashion trend, and people then tag themselves on Facebook wearing that trend. This is done by tagging their picture with the Tag a Trend Facebook page. The other option is to directly add your pics to the facebook wall at http://www.facebook.com/TagATrend or to email pics to kte20@hotmail.com. The best pics then appear on my site.
    This week’s trend is aztec print and as can see you are loving the trend, I thought you might be interested in getting involved and tagging yourself in this fab print. The picture will appear on both my site and Facebook (both with a direct link back to your blog.)
    Look forward to hearing from you!
    Katie

  13. sewingforfun says:

    I just made this outfit for my daughter. I LOVE your version. The print is wonderful on you :-)


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 185 other followers