Surprise party Macaron


I finished my macaron finally, originally I had wanted to make it in purple but the fabric I ordered ended up being a heavy polyester material, not what I was expecting. I really don’t know what I’m going to do with it actually, I guess it will just get added to my growing stash. Instead I just settled on good old cotton. I love this blueish jade color and I wanted the contrast to be white so it would have a t-shirt dress effect. 

I am calling this the surprise party dress because I wore it to two different suprise parties that happened last night. What are the odds? Luckily the surprises were scheduled a a couple hours apart so we didn’t miss any of the excitement!

The construction of this dress was very straight forward, however beware that it is labeled as “intermediate” so the instructions on the zipper installation were minimal. I guess intermediate means that Colette assumes you know have a level of skill set that they can omit detailed instructions on pieces of the garment. Mine went in fine but I had to hand tack it down at the top which I really hate doing.

I really really love this dress, I think its great for this end of summer beginning of fall transition. The hidden pockets in the pleats are so cute! I cut this dress in a size 6 and it fit just perfectly, I didn’t have to take it in or let it out at all. Zero alterations!

8 Comments on “Surprise party Macaron”

  1. aww, you look lovely! I like the sleeves on this. I don’t recall noticing the Macaron sleeves as anything all that different or unusual before, but yours look cute–they caught my eye. And I think the teal goes really well with those brown boots ;)

  2. gingermakes says:

    This is so cute, and it fits you perfectly! Love the teal color!

  3. punkmik says:

    love the colour combo! so cute teamed with the boots! You look great! :)

  4. dressesandme says:

    Beautiful! This is a lovely dress!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 183 other followers