Thurlow Jeans :D


Here is my second attempt at the Thurlows, I found this very light weight denim in almost a baby blue hue. I used to have this awesome pair of flared light blue vintage jeans that I found at a thrift shop and I LOVED them, but I somehow lost them during those college years. My goal was to try to recreate these, and I think these are close enough!

I’d like to say that this second go went off without a hitch, but we all know that’s a big fat lie. I will say that I cut these 4 sizes smaller and they fit much┬áMUCH better than the first. However, since this denim was much less sturdy than the denim material I used last time I had more problems with the welt pockets. I had to put in stitching along the sides and it came out kind of lumpy. meh… and then the worst part, somehow I misaligned the pockets in the back and they are totally uneven, I have a crooked butt!

I tried to fix it by shortening the waistband which got a little pinched and weird too, so.. yeah, kind of a mess. But I will say that I I moved the placement down more and I think that it looks more flattering than the last pair. My zip fly turned out really well, I need to move my button down a hair to line up my band better but other than that I am really pleased with how it turned out.

Despite my crooked arse, I think I’ll still wear these- why not? Nothing a long shirt can’t handle.

 

9 Comments on “Thurlow Jeans :D”

  1. Cynthia says:

    I really like these! I used to have a similar pair of pants that I miss too. The look so comfy, and you can never have enough pairs of jeans, amiright?

  2. sewbusylizzy says:

    I love denim flares, gold never tarnishes right? I found I had to interface behind the welt as well when I made my Thurlows.
    I love this pattern and I reckon you have churned out a great pair – challenges and all!

    • cjgal says:

      Thanks lady! Man I wish I had thought of that before I started monkeying around with the pockets, it probably would’ve fixed that issue. The next pair will be interface city!

  3. punkmik says:

    ooo these suit you so nicely! Funnily enough I just completed my long thurlows too (will blog later) and my bum ended up crooked! I had issues with the welt pockets again but apparently they will always be a struggle, or so I hear. haha!
    Love the colour of your denim! I am thinking of making one of these floaty blouses or tops that has a longer back to cover my wonky bum in my version! lol!

  4. Pants are tricky! Kudos for trying welt pockets on your first pair. I’m taking the Starlet Suit Jacket course on Craftsy.com. While I haven’t tried the welt pockets yet, the course does say to stitch in the ditch on them, meaning you hand sew in the seam line around the welt. It might help you avoid seeing the reinforcing thread on the sides of the pocket.

    • cjgal says:

      Thanks! That’s also a good tip, i’ve seen a few directions on welt pockets and they all seem to have a different method for reinforcements. Maybe I’ll just combine them all and have super sturdy pockets on my next go

  5. gingermakes says:

    These are so cute! I would wear these constantly!


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 170 other followers