“Vintage” Vogue 8728


In an effort to start using up my fabric stash as well as tapping into my pattern collection I decided it was time to try Vogue 8728. I saw the version by the Sew Convert in a solid teal knit and it turned out so beautiful! I love how she styled it, and it ooks perfect for just about any occasion. I have had this knit black and white material in my stash FOREVER, it was in the bottom of my bin actually, so I figured it would be great for my first run at this dress (the pattern would hide any imperfections, always a plus!)

I think my dress turned out alright, but I have many things to say about this pattern. First off, this thing was HUGE! I could have easily cut 2 sizes smaller, and the length was at my ankles… literally. My torso is very short so I ended up taking up the midriff section by 2-3 inches, otherwise the waist would have fallen below my hips. I also had to take in the sides quite a bit, the corners ended up getting a little bunchy despite trimming the seams down each time. I think this silhouette is best on tall thin ladies with minimal hips.

The gathering on the bust didn’t quite sit as nicely as I would have liked, but I think that I could remedy this and take the gathers in some more on my next go. The neck binding was actually not as difficult as I thought it would be, this is usually something I struggle with however the topstitching wasn’t my favorite.

Another thought I had on this pattern was that I don’t think it looks particularly “vintage”. Even in the pictures on the website with the girl styled for the 40’s this dress itself looks rather modern to me.

I didn’t bother making the covered belt because I really didn’t think it was worth all the work. I doubt I would ever wear it anyhow. There were also instructions for making shoulder pads, but really… does this knit dress need stinkin shoulder pads?? I think not. I think overall this is a cute dress and it had some interesting throwback methods, however I ended up serging a lot of it and just stuck with what I know. I’d try this one again in a solid, however I’ll probably wait until t warms up… I think maybe I made this one prematurely because I am already sick of winter!

6 Comments on ““Vintage” Vogue 8728”

  1. prttynpnk says:

    You know, when I saw Sew Converts I was thinking that i need this, but hey- seeing it twice in a week must be a personal message for me from the whimsical textile gods, right? Yours is lovely-glad you didn’t leave it ankle length!

  2. AllisonF says:

    So cute. Thanks for sharing.

  3. Kim says:

    I have that fabric and keep pulling it out too…I must be sick of winter as well! This dress is really cute on you. I keep thinking about making it myself.

  4. Sophia says:

    Looking at the pictures, I would have never guessed you had so much difficulty with the pattern. It looks very well made and fits you to a T.

    All of the issues you experienced with the pattern just sound crazy. I would love to meet the people who decide on the wear and design ease for patterns (and give them a piece of my mind!). But, at least you were able to use fabric from your stash and make something beautiful!

    And sick of Winter? Winter hasn’t even started over here in Boston :)

  5. aleah says:

    I love it! After seeing Mena’s orange stripe version on Sew Weekly I’ve been meaning to pick up this pattern and do it in a knit, but it keeps slipping out of my head when there’s a Vogue pattern sale. Thanks for the great reminder, and for your advice about fitting the pattern!

  6. youseef44 says:

    love it sooo…
    This dress is really cute on you


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 182 other followers